Eva-Maria Schaller (AT)

BIOGRAPHY

Eva-Maria Schaller is a dancer, teacher and choreographer from Vienna where she began her dance training at the Vienna Opera Ballet School. She continued her studies at Codarts Rotterdam and currently completes a Master's degree in New Performative Practices at Stockhom University of the Arts. Her choreographic work and practice are based on thorough engagement within the field of dance-heritage and -history, (un-) archiving and transmission in dance: such as the Solo Vestris 4.0 (2018) in collaboration with cellist Maiken Beer and composer Matthias Kranebitter; as well as Recalling Her Dance – a choreographic encounter with Hanna Berger (2021) which was presented at Tanzquartier Wien and the ImPulsTanz festival. Further works include What we hold inside (2019), Mist & magic (2023) with Soundartist Manuel Riegler, as well as the group piece FEMENINE (2022) together with the music ensemble Studio Dan.

As a dancer, she has worked with choreographers such as Emio Greco|PC and Anouk van Dijk; in Austria she collaborated with Christine Gaigg at ImPulsTanz, Wien Modern, Schauspielhaus Wien, steirischer herbst, and danced with Sabine Glenz in collaboration with the Munich Philharmonic. In 2019 the Jahrbuch Tanz (Berlin) selected her as one of the bearers of hope.
Next to performing and making dances, she teaches Countertechnique and other open practice-based workshops, in various places and also as guest at the MUK (Musik- und Kunstuniversität Wien). In her ongoing dance practice, she explores the connection between dance and voice as a way of poetic moving – a way to challenge notions of musicality, language and expressivity.

25.05.2023

© 
        Pippa Samaya
© Pippa Samaya

ARCHIVE

© ImPulsTanz - All rights reserved
Date: 23.02.2024, 13:24 | Link: https://www.impulstanz.com/en/artist/id1354/

Eva-Maria Schaller (AT)

BIOGRAFIE

Eva-Maria Schaller ist Tänzerin, Lehrerin und Choreografin aus Wien, wo sie ihre Tanzausbildung an der Ballettschule der Wiener Staatsoper begann. Sie setzte ihr Studium an Codarts Rotterdam fort und absolviert derzeit einen Masterstudiengang in New Performative Practices an der Stockhom University of the Arts. Ihre choreografische Arbeit und Praxis basiert auf einer intensiven Auseinandersetzung mit dem Thema Tanz-Erbe und -Geschichte, (Un-)Archivierung und Übertragung im Tanz: wie das Solo Vestris 4.0 (2018) in Zusammenarbeit mit der Cellistin Maiken Beer und dem Komponisten Matthias Kranebitter; sowie Recalling Her Dance – eine choreografische Begegnung mit Hanna Berger (2021), die am Tanzquartier Wien und beim ImPulsTanz Festival präsentiert wurde. Weitere Arbeiten sind What we hold inside (2019), Mist & magic (2023) mit dem Soundartist Manuel Riegler, sowie das Gruppenstück FEMENINE (2022) mit dem Musikensemble Studio Dan.

Als Tänzerin arbeitete sie mit Choreograf*innen wie Emio Greco|PC und Anouk van Dijk; in Österreich arbeitete sie mit Christine Gaigg bei ImPulsTanz, Wien Modern, Schauspielhaus Wien, steirischer herbst und tanzte mit Sabine Glenz in Zusammenarbeit mit den Münchner Philharmonikern. 2019 wurde sie vom Jahrbuch Tanz (Berlin) als eine der Hoffnungsträger*innen ausgewählt.
Neben ihrer Tätigkeit als Tänzerin und Performerin unterrichtet sie Countertechnique und andere offene praxisbasierte Workshops an verschiedenen Orten und auch als Gast an der MUK (Musik- und Kunstuniversität Wien). In ihrer fortlaufenden Tanzpraxis erforscht sie die Verbindung zwischen Tanz und Stimme als eine Art der poetischen Bewegung – eine Möglichkeit, Vorstellungen von Musikalität, Sprache und Expressivität zu hinterfragen.

25.05.2023

© 
        Pippa Samaya
© Pippa Samaya

ARCHIV

© ImPulsTanz - All rights reserved
Date: 14.04.2024, 03:12 | Link: https://www.impulstanz.com/artist/id1354/