Ziya Azazi (AT/TR)

BIOGRAPHY

Ziya Azazi was born in Antakya in 1969. He graduated from the Department of Mining Engineering at Istanbul Technical University (ITU) and took gymnastics training. He took the stage as a dancer at Istanbul City Theatres between 1990–1994 and made his first choreographies. He worked with various dance groups in Vienna between 1994–2000. He was awarded with a danceWEB scholarship in 1999 and was awarded the title of “The Most Outstanding Dancer of the Year in Austria” by the “Ballet International” Magazine.

The artist who has been experiencing whirling, one of the basic dances of Sufism since 1999, has interpreted this dance with different choreographies for years. While enriching the dance terminology and teaching which was formed over the years and named Dervish in Progress (DIP), he also continued to interact with different disciplines. He made artistic productions with artists such as Sebastian Prantl, Ismael Ivo, Marcia Haydee, Yoshi Oida, Jan Fabre, Thierry Smits, Kayhan Kalhor, Parastou Forouhar, Thimios Atzakas, Miguel Angel Berna, Claudio Bettinelli, Serge Adams, Zad Moultaka, Mercan Dede, Sertab Erener, Sabri Tulug Tirpan, Mehmet Balkan, Burhan Öcal, Yilmaz Erdogan, Baba Zula over the years. By giving place to different branches of art, unusual ideas, mechanical and technological opportunities in his projects, he performed the performances of Dervish in Progress, Azab, Dervish, Icons, Energy, Ember, Bolero, Neo Dervish and Kismet. The Vienna-based artist has delivered many projects and collaborations to his audience in 50 countries throughout his 30-year art career with his personal dance terminology. Within the framework of special events, he has also performed in the presence of royal family members such as Denmark, Morocco, the Netherlands, Thailand and the United Kingdom. He has shared the formed dance terminology and teaching in 35 countries around the world with workshops and retreats. Participants from 15 different countries came to DIPTEP, the two-year DIP Instructor Training that was started in 2018. DIPTEP has trained more than 30 instructors who have completed Fundamentals and 15 instructors who have completed the Formation programme so far. Despite the break due to the pandemic, preparations for the training of the 3rd and 4th generations still continue.

Azazi has also been making presentations to academic and institutional circles such as London Goldsmiths, Istanbul Culture, Vienna Music and Performing Arts Universities, Istanbul TEDx, Joyology Talks for about 10 years. In the last 15 years until the start of the epidemic, the artist made 45 performances, 10 workshops, 2 collaborations, 1 project and 1 presentation, with an average of 35 trips to 15 countries each year. He continues to give international performances, retreats, workshops, projects and trainings in various forms.

17.04.2023

© 
        Iglika Trifonova
© Iglika Trifonova

ARCHIVE

© ImPulsTanz - All rights reserved
Date: 23.02.2024, 14:38 | Link: https://www.impulstanz.com/en/artist/id1328/

Ziya Azazi (AT/TR)

BIOGRAFIE

Ziya Azazi wurde 1969 in Antakya geboren. Er absolvierte die Fakultät für Bergbauingenieurwesen an der Technischen Universität Istanbul (ITU) und machte eine Gymnastikausbildung. Zwischen 1990 und 1994 stand er als Tänzer an den Istanbuler Stadttheatern auf der Bühne und schuf seine ersten Choreografien. Zwischen 1994-2000 arbeitete er mit verschiedenen Tanzgruppen in Wien. Er wurde 1999 mit einem danceWEB-Stipendium ausgezeichnet und erhielt von der Zeitschrift „Ballett International“ den Titel „Der herausragendste Tänzer des Jahres in Österreich“.

Der Künstler, der sich seit 1999 mit dem Wirbeln, einem der Grundtänze des Sufismus, auseinandersetzt, interpretiert diesen Tanz seit Jahren mit verschiedenen Choreografien. Neben der Bereicherung der Tanzterminologie und des Unterrichts, der sich im Laufe der Jahre herausgebildet hat und den Namen Dervish in Progress (DIP) trägt, interagiert er auch weiterhin mit verschiedenen Disziplinen. Im Laufe der Jahre arbeitete er mit Künstler*innen wie Sebastian Prantl, Ismael Ivo, Marcia Haydee, Yoshi Oida, Jan Fabre, Thierry Smits, Kayhan Kalhor, Parastou Forouhar, Thimios Atzakas, Miguel Angel Berna, Claudio Bettinelli, Serge Adams, Zad Moultaka, Mercan Dede, Sertab Erener, Sabri Tulug Tirpan, Mehmet Balkan, Burhan Öcal, Yilmaz Erdogan, Baba Zula zusammen. Indem er verschiedenen Kunstzweigen, ungewöhnlichen Ideen, mechanischen und technologischen Möglichkeiten in seinen Projekten Platz einräumte, kreierte er die Performances von Dervish in Progress, Azab, Dervish, Icons, Energy, Ember, Bolero, Neo Dervish und Kismet. Der in Wien lebende Künstler hat in seiner 30-jährigen künstlerischen Laufbahn mit seiner persönlichen Tanzterminologie zahlreiche Projekte und Kollaborationen für sein Publikum in 50 Ländern durchgeführt. Im Rahmen von Sonderveranstaltungen ist er auch in Anwesenheit von Mitgliedern der königlichen Familie aufgetreten, wie z.B. in Dänemark, Marokko, den Niederlanden, Thailand und dem Vereinigten Königreich. Er gab die von ihm entwickelte Tanzterminologie und -lehre in 35 Ländern der Welt in Workshops und Retreats weiter. Teilnehmer*innen aus 15 verschiedenen Ländern kamen zu DIPTEP, dem zweijährigen DIP Instructor Training, das 2018 gestartet wurde. DIPTEP hat bisher mehr als 30 Instruktor*innen ausgebildet, die das Fundamentals-Programm absolviert haben, und 15 Instruktor*innen, die das Ausbildungsprogramm abgeschlossen haben. Trotz der pandemiebedingten Pause gingen die Vorbereitungen für die Ausbildung der 3. und 4. Generation weiter.

Seit etwa 10 Jahren hält Azazi auch Vorträge in akademischen und institutionellen Kreisen wie London Goldsmiths, Istanbul Culture, Wien Music and Performing Arts Universities, Istanbul TEDx, Joyology Talks. In den letzten 15 Jahren bis zum Beginn der Epidemie hat der Künstler 45 Performances, 10 Workshops, 2 Kollaborationen, 1 Projekt und 1 Präsentation durchgeführt, mit durchschnittlich 35 Reisen in 15 Länder pro Jahr. Er gibt weiterhin internationale Performances, Retreats, Workshops, Projekte und Trainings in verschiedenen Formen.

17.04.2023

© 
        Iglika Trifonova
© Iglika Trifonova

ARCHIV

© ImPulsTanz - All rights reserved
Date: 15.04.2024, 22:00 | Link: https://www.impulstanz.com/artist/id1328/