Claudia Bosse (AT/DE)

CURRENTLY

BIOGRAPHY

Claudia Bosse, based in Vienna and Berlin, is a choreographer, artist and artistic director of the transdisciplinary constellation theatercombinat in Vienna. Her body based works negotiate forms of violence, history and concrete utopia. Bosse thinks of her space-involving choreographies, which weave together myths, rituals and texts with bodies, objects, sounds and, sometimes, choirs, as ‘art of a temporary community’ – including non-human beings. She develops site-specific performances, installations and interventions in and outside of Europe, in museums, architectural settings, theaters, landscapes and urban spaces. She is interested in relational bodies in different affects and constellations.

Since 2011, she has also been creating installative works in her engagement with archives and museum collections as well as practicing ecological thinking.

She is currently working on the performance series haunted landscape/s as part of the 4-year cycle ORGAN/ismus poetic of relations, which also includes the intergenerational PUBLIC PERFORMANCE SCHOOL, as well as the Translocal Performative Academy/ TPA for space related performative practice with participating artists from Europe and Southeast Asia which monthly encounter in digital space/s and once a year analog.

Her latest pieces include BONES and STONES, BONES and STONES in the landscape,  ORACLE and SACRIFICE in the woods, ORACLE and SACRIFICE or the evacuation of the present and assembly of different beings as part of commune 1–73, featuring 73 fragments about the Paris Commune 1883. She performed at Tanzquartier Vienna, FFT Düsseldorf, Studio Plesungan, Surakarta, Metropolis Festival Copenhagen, TIM Jakarta, Pumpenhaus Münster and ImPulsTanz Festival.

Bosse studied theater directing at Hochschule für Schauspielkunst Ernst Busch, Berlin and teaches at various academies, art schools and universities as a guest professor or lecturer, publishes and is part of various research projects. She has been a guest professor at University for Applied Theater Studies in Giessen (DE), twice she was the Christoph Schlingensief guest professor at the Master of Scenic Research at the University of Bochum (DE) as well at Trans Arts Department at the University of Applied Art in Vienna (AT) and lecturer at various universities and academies such as Manufacture in Lausanne (CH), ZHDK in Zürich (CH), Academy of Fine Arts Vienna in the departments Scenography and Critical Studies, at MUK Music and Arts Private University of Vienna, IDA Linz and at the Choreographic Academy in Elefsina (GR) among others.

2023 a monograph about her artistic work: Claudia Bosse – Kein Theater. Alles Möglich as part of the series Postdramatic Theater in Portraits was published at Alexander Verlag, Berlin by the editors Kathrin Tiedemann and Fanti Baum. More on her expansive works can be found on the website down below.

13.06.2024

© 
        Elsa Okazaki
© Elsa Okazaki
WEBSITE

ARCHIVE

Claudia Bosse (AT/DE)

AKTUELL

BIOGRAFIE

Claudia Bosse, wohnhaft in Wien und Berlin, ist Choreografin, Künstlerin und künstlerische Leiterin der transdisziplinären Konstellation theatercombinat in Wien. Ihre körperbasierten Arbeiten verhandeln Formen von Gewalt, Geschichte und konkreter Utopie. Bosse versteht ihre raumgreifenden Choreografien, die Mythen, Rituale und Texte mit Körpern, Objekten, Klängen und manchmal auch Chören verweben, als „Kunst einer temporären Gemeinschaft“ – einschließlich nicht-menschlicher Wesen. Sie entwickelt ortsspezifische Performances, Installationen und Interventionen in und außerhalb Europas, in Museen, architektonischen Einrichtungen, Theatern, Landschaften und städtischen Räumen. Sie interessiert sich für relationale Körper in unterschiedlichen Affekten und Konstellationen.

Seit 2011 schafft sie auch installative Arbeiten in ihrer Auseinandersetzung mit Archiven und Museumssammlungen und praktiziert ökologisches Denken.

Derzeit arbeitet sie an der Performanceserie haunted landscape/s als Teil des 4-Jahres-Zyklus ORGAN/ismus poetiken der relationen, der auch die generationenübergreifende PUBLIC PERFORMANCE SCHOOL umfasst, sowie an der Translocal Performative Academy/ TPA für raumbezogene performative Praxis mit teilnehmenden Künstlern aus Europa und Südostasien, die sich monatlich in digitalen Räumen und einmal im Jahr analog treffen.

Zu ihren letzten Stücken gehören BONES and STONES, BONES and STONES in the landscape, ORACLE and SACRIFICE in the woods, ORACLE and SACRIFICE or the evacuation of the present und assembly of different beings als Teil von commune 1-73, mit 73 Fragmenten über die Pariser Kommune 1883. Sie spielte am Tanzquartier Wien, FFT Düsseldorf, Studio Plesungan, Surakarta, Metropolis Festival Kopenhagen, TIM Jakarta, Pumpenhaus Münster und beim ImPulsTanz Festival.

Bosse studierte Theaterregie an der Hochschule für Schauspielkunst Ernst Busch, Berlin und unterrichtet als Gastprofessorin oder Dozentin an verschiedenen Akademien, Kunsthochschulen und Universitäten, publiziert und ist an verschiedenen Forschungsprojekten beteiligt. Sie war Gastprofessorin an der Hochschule für Angewandte Theaterwissenschaft in Gießen (DE), zweimal Christoph-Schlingensief-Gastprofessorin im Masterstudiengang Szenische Forschung an der Universität Bochum (DE) sowie am Trans Arts Department an der Universität für angewandte Kunst in Wien und Dozentin an verschiedenen Hochschulen und Akademien wie Manufacture in Lausanne (CH), ZHDK in Zürich (CH), Akademie der bildenden Künste Wien in den Abteilungen Szenografie und Kritische Studien, an der MUK Musik und Kunst Privatuniversität Wien, IDA Linz und an der Choreografischen Akademie in Elefsina (GR) u. a.

2023 erschien eine Monografie über ihre künstlerische Arbeit: Claudia Bosse – Kein Theater. Alles Möglich im Rahmen der Reihe Postdramatisches Theater in Porträts im Alexander Verlag, Berlin von den Herausgeberinnen Kathrin Tiedemann und Fanti Baum veröffentlicht. Mehr über ihr umfangreiches Werk finden Sie auf der unten stehenden Website.

13.06.2024

© 
        Elsa Okazaki
© Elsa Okazaki
WEBSITE

ARCHIV