You are using an unsupported browser, so some features may not work. Please upgrade to a modern browser
Ihr Webbrowser ist veraltet und wird leider nicht in vollem Umfang unterstützt.

ARCHIVE

SEARCH TERM
CATEGORYS
 
 

Artist Archive

Thibault Grégoire
© Thibault Grégoire

Thomas Hauert (BE/CH)

After training in Rotterdam, Swiss Thomas Hauert moved to Brussels in 1991. There, he danced in Anne Teresa De Keersmaeker’s company ROSAS, before collaborating with Gonnie Heggen, David Zambrano and Pierre Droulers. In 1998, he founded his own company ZOO and created "Cows in Space", awarded at the Rencontres de Seine-Saint-Denis. Since then, Thomas has created more than 15 performances with ZOO, most often group pieces, a.o. "Jetzt "(2000), "Verosimile" (2002), "modify" (2004, "Swiss Dance Prize" (2005), "Walking Oscar" (2006), "Accords" (2008), "You’ve Changed" (2010) and "MONO" (2013).

In 2011, he explored more intimate constellations with "From B to B" (duet with Àngels Margarit, “Current Dance Work Prize” at the Swiss Dance Awards 2013) and "Like me more like me" (duet with Scott Heron, nominated at the Tribute to the Classical Arts Awards in New Orleans). He also created a piece for young audiences ("Danse étoffée sur musique déguisée", 2012) on music by John Cage performed live. In 2010, director Thierry De Mey took "Accords" as a base to create the film "La Valse", co-produced by European television channel Arte. In addition to his work for ZOO, Thomas was commissioned to create "Hà Mais" (2002) with Mozambican dancers, as well as several pieces for the school P.A.R.T.S in Brussels. He created new works for the Zurich Ballet ("Il Giornale della necropoli", 2010), Toronto Dance Theatre ("Pond Skaters", 2013, nominated for the Dora Awards in Toronto) and Candoco Dance Company ("Notturnino", 2014).

Presented on more than 200 stages in 30 countries, Thomas' work first develops from research on movement, with a particular interest in improvisation-based processes exploring the tension between freedom and constraint, individuals and the group, order and disorder, form and formlessness. The relationship between dance and music is also central to his approach. Thomas teaches regularly at P.A.R.T.S. and was Valeska-Gert-guest professor at the Freie Universität Berlin in 2012-13. Recently, he was chosen as academic director of the new bachelor degree in contemporary dance that will open in September 2014 within the theatre academy La Manufacture in Lausanne (Switzerland's first dance school at university level). In 2012-13, Thomas was also invited to collaborate in The Forsythe Company’s "Motion Bank" project. ZOO is in residence at Charleroi Danses and associated artist at the Kaaitheater in Brussels.

GOOD TO KNOW

© Maja Preckel

Shop

Fashionable goodies of the last festivals are available HERE

© Karolin Miernik

Archive

Everything about our previous festivals you find HERE

final workshop showing 2019 © yako.one

Gallery

Sneak previews of our current performances, or sweet memories of our workshops and past festival events can be watched HERE.

© ImPulsTanz - All rights reserved
Date: 21.01.2020, 13:11 | Link: https://www.impulstanz.com/en/archive/artistbios/id974/

You are using an unsupported browser, so some features may not work. Please upgrade to a modern browser
Ihr Webbrowser ist veraltet und wird leider nicht in vollem Umfang unterstützt.

ARCHIV

SUCHBEGRIFF
KATEGORIEN
 
 

Artist Archive

Thibault Grégoire
© Thibault Grégoire

Thomas Hauert (BE/CH)

Nach einer Ausbildung in Rotterdam, zog der Schweizer Thomas Hauert 1991 nach Brüssel. Dort tanzte er in der Compagnie ROSAS von Anne Teresa De Keersmaeker, bevor er die Zusammenarbeit mit Gonnie Heggen, David Zambrano und Pierre Droulers aufnahm. Im Jahr 1998 gründete er seine eigene Compagnie ZOO und schuf „Cows in Space“, das bei der Rencontres de Seine-Saint-Denis ausgezeichnet wurde. Seitdem kreierte Thomas mehr als 15 Performances mit ZOO, meist Gruppenstücke, u.a. „Jetzt“ (2000), „Verosimile“ (2002), „modify” (2004, Schweizer Tanzpreis 2005), „Walking Oscar” (2006), „Accords“ (2008), „You’ve Changed“ (2010) and „MONO“ (2013).

Im Jahr 2011 erkundete er intimere Konstellationen mit „From B to B“ (Duett mit Àngels Margarit, das den „Current Dance Work Prize” bei den Swiss Dance Awards 2013 gewann) und „Like me more like me“ (Duett mit Scott Heron, nominiert Tribute to the Classical Arts Awards in New Orleans). Zur Live-Musik von John Cage schuf er 2012 „Danse sur étoffée déguisée musique“, das er einem jungen Publikum widmete. 2010 nahm Direktor Thierry De Mey „Accords“ als Basis für den Film „La Valse“, der vom europäischen Fernsehkanal Arte koproduzierte wurde. Neben seiner Arbeit für ZOO, wurde Thomas beauftragt, „Hà Mais“ (2002) mit mosambikanischen Tänzer_innen sowie mehrere Stücke für P.A.R.T.S. in Brüssel zu schaffen. Er kreierte neue Arbeiten für das Zürcher Ballett („Il Giornale della necropoli“, 2010), Toronto Dance Theatre („Pond Skater“ 2013, nominiert für die Dora Awards in Toronto) und CandoCo Dance Company („Notturnino“, 2014).

Auf mehr als 200 Bühnen in 30 Ländern präsentiert, entwickelt Thomas seine Arbeiten zuerst aus der Recherche über die Bewegung heraus, mit einem besonderen Interesse an improvisationsbasierenden Prozessen, wobei die Spannungen zwischen Freiheit und Zwang, Einzelpersonen und Gruppe, Ordnung und Unordnung, Form und Formlosigkeit erkundet werden. Die Beziehung zwischen Tanz und Musik steht auch im Mittelpunkt seines Kreationsansatzes. Thomas unterrichtet regelmäßig bei P.A.R.T.S. und war 2012-13 Valeska-Gert-Gastprofessor an der Freien Universität Berlin. Zuletzt wurde er zum wissenschaftlichen Leiter des neuen Bachelor-Studiums für zeitgenössischen Tanz gewählt, das im September 2014 in der Theaterakademie La Manufacture in Lausanne (erste Tanzschule in der Schweiz auf Hochschulniveau) eröffnen wird. 2012-13 wurde Thomas eingeladen, am Projekt der Forsythe Company "Motion Bank" mitzuarbeiten. ZOO ist residierende Tanzcompagnie bei Charleroi Danses und künstlerischer Kooperationspartner des Kaaitheater Brüssel.

GOOD TO KNOW

© Karolin Miernik

Archiv

Alles über unsere vorangegangenen Festivals finden Sie HIER

© Maja Preckel

Shop

Fesche Goodies der letzten Festival-Ausgaben ab jetzt HIER

final workshop showing 2019 © yako.one

Galerie

Sneak previews auf unsere aktuellen Performances, oder sweet Memories vergangener Workshops und Festival-Events sehen Sie HIER.

© ImPulsTanz - All rights reserved
Date: 21.01.2020, 11:40 | Link: https://www.impulstanz.com/archive/artistbios/id974/