ARCHIVE

SEARCH TERM
CATEGORYS
 
 

Artist Archive

Ajda Es
© Ajda Es

Russell Adamson (FI/UK)

Russell Leon Adamson was born in Jamaica and moved to England with his family at the age of 10. He attained three city and guild certificates in electronics and engineering at Gloucester City College. His athletic abilities lead him to the Gloucester Youth Gymnastics team and to amateurs as well as Thai boxing. He carries the black belt status in various Martial Art Techniques. With this physical background he was granted a 4-year scholarship at the London School of Contemporary Dance. At the same time he took classes in Classical Ballet at the Central School of Ballet in London.

He studied Ballet with Marian Lane and Laura Conners of the Royal Ballet School and Company (UK) and Jazz with Deirdre Lowell and Wayne Babeist (Alvin Ailey Company), Daniela Lorenz (Matt Mattox Company), Charles Augins (USA) and also Claude Paul Henry (London) and Max Stone (New York).

He also studied Modern with Bill Louther (Martha Graham and Alvin Ailey Company), Carolyn Carson and Jorma Uotinen (Helsinki City Theatre, Finland), Viola Farber from the Merce Cunningham Company, Jane Dudley and Robert Cohan from the Martha Graham Company.



Russell Adamson is an innovative teacher, motivating his students to focus on their work, so they can do more than they expected. With his support many young dancers have chosen dance as their profession. He has also created many choreographies, which received a lot of recognition in Finland and abroad. During the last years he has worked as a performer for the National Ballet of Estonia, the Gala for the 6th International Baltic Ballet Festival (Riga, Lithuania) and for Marimekkos 50th birthday (2001 - 2004), amongst others. In addition he has worked with the Black Dance Festival in Vienna (2002 & 2003) and the Estonia Art and Culture Gala Night in Tallinn (2004).

As a choreographer he has created his own work including: "Spirit of the Landscape" (Finland, 2005), a solo and duet with Rodney Williams for the Black Dance Festival (Vienna, 2005), "Flow" a solo (London, 2006), "Terrain" (Finland, 2006), a choreography for the opera La Traviata (Finland, 2006), "Episodes" for the Rainbow Jazz Festival (2007, Estonia), a choreography for the Higher Ground Gospel Concert (Finland, 2007), The Live Orchestral Music and visual effects show at the Estonia Concert Hall (Tallinn, 2007), a Funk & HipHop choreography for the Urban Culture Tour (Helsinki, 2007) and lately a choreography for the jazz opera Manon with the world premiere (Estonia, February 2008).

In 2009 Russell created four big productions, which have been shown in London, Tallinn and Vienna.

Last update: 2010

GOOD TO KNOW

© Maja Preckel

Shop

Fashionable goodies of the last festivals are available HERE

final workshop showing 2019 © yako.one

Gallery

Sneak previews of our current performances or sweet memories of our workshops and past festival events can be watched HERE.

© Karolin Miernik

Archive

Everything about our previous festivals you find HERE

© ImPulsTanz - All rights reserved
Date: 02.07.2020, 10:56 | Link: https://www.impulstanz.com/en/archive/artistbios/id234/
NEWSLETTER SUBSCRIPTIONORDER PROGRAMME
© ImPulsTanz - Vienna International Dance Festival

ARCHIV

SUCHBEGRIFF
KATEGORIEN
 
 

Artist Archive

Ajda Es
© Ajda Es

Russell Adamson (FI/UK)

Russell Leon Adamson wurde in Jamaica geboren und übersiedelte im Alter von 10 Jahren mit seiner Familie nach England. Am Gloucester City Collage machte er zunächst eine Ausbildung zum Ingenieur (Elektronik). Seine athletischen Fähigkeiten brachten ihn ins Gloucester Youth Gymnastics Team und zum Amateur- und Thai-Boxing. Er ist Träger des schwarzen Gürtels in mehreren Kampfsportarten. Vor diesem Hintergrund erhielt er ein 4-Jahres-Stipendium an der London School of Contemporary Dance. Parallel dazu nahm er Unterricht in klassischem Ballett an der Central School of Ballet in London.

Er studierte Ballett u.a. bei Marian Lane und Laura Conners an der Royal Ballet School & Company, England, und Jazz bei Deirdre Lowell und Wayne Babeist (Alvin Ailey Company), Daniela Lorenz (Matt Mattox Company), Charles Augins (USA), Claude Paul Henry (London) und Max Stone (New York).

Modern Dance studierte er bei Bill Louther (Martha Graham und Alvin Ailey Company), Carolyn Carlson und Jorma Uotinen (Helsinki City Theatre, Finnland), Viola Farber von der Merce Cunningham Company sowie Jane Dudley und Robert Cohan von der Martha Graham Company.

Russell Adamson ist ein innovativer Lehrer, der seine Studenten dazu motiviert, sich auf ihre Arbeit zu konzentrieren, damit sie mehr erreichen, als sie je gedacht hätten. Durch seine Unterstützung haben viele junge Tänzer_innen ihren Weg zum professionellen Tanz gefunden. Er hat eine ganze Reihe von Choreografien gestaltet, die sowohl in Finnland als auch international Anerkennung gefunden haben.



In den letzten Jahren hat er als Performer und Choreograf u.a. für das National Ballet of Estonia, die Gala beim 6th International Baltic Ballet Festival (Riga, Litauen) und zu Marimekkos 50. Geburtstag (2001 - 2004), sowie für das Black Dance Festival in Wien (2002 & 2003) und der Estonia Art and Culture Gala Night in Tallinn (2004) gearbeitet.



Als Choreograf schuf er eigene Arbeiten: „Spirit of the Landscape“ (Finnland, 2005), ein Solo und Duett mit Rodney Williams für das Black Dance Festival (Wien, 2005), „Flow” ein weiteres Solo (London, 2006), „Terrain” (Finnland, 2006), eine Choreografie für die Oper La Traviata (Finnland, 2006), „Episodes” für das Rainbow Jazz Festival (2007, Estland), eine Choreografie für das Higher Ground Gospel Concert (Finnland, 2007), The Live Orchestral Music and visual effects show an der Estonia Concert Hall (Tallinn, 2007), eine Funk & HipHop Choreografie für die Urban Culture Tour (Helsinki, 2007) und kürzlich eine Choreografie für die Jazz Oper Manon (Estland, Februar 2008).

2009 schuf Russell vier große Produktionen, die in London, Tallinn und Wien gezeigt wurden.

Letztes Update der Biografie: 2010

GOOD TO KNOW

© Karolin Miernik

Archiv

Alles über unsere vorangegangenen Festivals findest du HIER

Shop

Fesche Goodies und Workshop- & Performance-Gutscheine gibt es HIER

Public Moves 2020 © yako.one

Galerie

Sneak Previews auf unsere aktuellen Performances oder sweet Memories vergangener Workshops und Festival-Events findest du HIER.

© ImPulsTanz - All rights reserved
Date: 28.11.2021, 12:19 | Link: https://www.impulstanz.com/archive/artistbios/id234/
NEWSLETTER ABONNIERENPROGRAMM BESTELLEN
© ImPulsTanz - Vienna International Dance Festival