ARCHIVE

SEARCH TERM
CATEGORYS
 
 

Artist Archive

Ludwig Löckinger
© Ludwig Löckinger

Esther Balfe (AT/UK)

Born in the UK, Esther Balfe began her professional training at The Rambert School for Contemporary Dance and Ballet, in West London under the direction of Ross McKim. There she performed works from McKim, Sir Fredrick Ashton and Mark Bruce. Upon leaving Rambert she was offered a position in Saarbrucken under the direction of Philip Landsdale, thereafter she joined Liz Kings ensemble in Heidelberg and later in Vienna with the newly founded TanzTheaterWien, working with Catherine Guerin, Georg Reischl, Nigel Charnock, Benoît Lachambre – prior to this time she also worked with choreographer Jai Gonzales at Unterwegs Theatre and Philip Talard at the National Theatre Mannheim.

Esther choreographed at the Volksoper Vienna and for Tanzquartier Wien (TTW) on a number of productions. Thereafter, she was invited to Albuquerque as Artist in Residence at the University of New Mexico. Between 2005 & 2006 Esther worked with Michael Keegan Dolan in his former company Fabulous Beast Dance Theatre.

In 2005, Esther was a guest Artist for Ballett Frankfurt and later in 2006 for the newly formed TheForsytheCompany, joining the company as a full time member from 2006. Esther worked at TFC, immersed in the collaborative, creative process with William Forsythe, touring and performing his works, internationally up until 2015. She was instrumental in the creation of Forsythe’s works during this period, including, "Yes We Can’t, I Don’t believe in Outer Space", "Defenders" and "The Returns".

In 2012 Esther became a Professor of Dance in Vienna and is currently working and teaching at the Music and Arts University Vienna, MUK.
Her recent positions include guest teacher for Rambert School and Ballet Preljocaj - Workshop leader for ImPulsTanz International Dance Festival, Ganymed 2015-17 KHM Wien with director J. Kornmüller, artistic collaborator with Scott DeLahunta for MotionBank Frankfurt, artistic collaborator and performer for INTRA SPACE with Christina Jauernik & Wolfgang Tschapeller, artistic contributor and dancer for John Gerrard – both from 2014 to present date. Esther will be performing "Negotiations" for Alex Gottfarb in Summer 2018.

Last update: 21.04.2018

GOOD TO KNOW

© Karolin Miernik

Archive

Everything about our previous festivals you find HERE

final workshop showing 2019 © yako.one

Gallery

Sneak previews of our current performances or sweet memories of our workshops and past festival events can be watched HERE.

© Maja Preckel

Shop

Fashionable goodies of the last festivals are available HERE

© ImPulsTanz - All rights reserved
Date: 11.08.2020, 06:40 | Link: https://www.impulstanz.com/en/archive/artistbios/id1376/
NEWSLETTER SUBSCRIPTIONORDER PROGRAMME
© ImPulsTanz - Vienna International Dance Festival

You are using an unsupported browser, so some features may not work. Please upgrade to a modern browser
Ihr Webbrowser ist veraltet und wird leider nicht in vollem Umfang unterstützt.

ARCHIV

SUCHBEGRIFF
KATEGORIEN
 
 

Artist Archive

Ludwig Löckinger
© Ludwig Löckinger

Esther Balfe (AT/UK)

Geboren in England, begann Esther Balfe ihre professionelle Karriere an der Rambert School for Contemporary Dance and Ballet, in West London unter der Leitung von Ross McKim. Dort performte sie in Stücken von McKim, Sir Fredrick Ashton und Mark Bruce. Nach ihrer Ausbildung an der Rambert School wurde ihr ein Engagement in Saarbrücken unter der Leitung von Philip Landsdale angeboten. Danach trat sie dem Ensemble von Liz King in Heidelberg und später in Wien mit dem neuen Namen TanzTheaterWien bei und arbeitete mit Catherine Guerin, Georg Reischl, Nigel Charnock und Benoît Lachambre. Vor dieser Zeit performte sie auch für die Choreografen Jai Gonzales am Unterwegs Theater und Philip Talard am Nationaltheater Mannheim.

Esther choreografierte für die Volksoper Wien und das Tanzquartier Wien mit TanzTheaterWien. Danach war sie Artist in Residence an der University of New Mexico in Albuquerque. Zwischen 2005 und 2006 arbeitete sie mit Michael Keegan Dolan und seiner damaligen Compagnie Fabulous Beast Dance Theatre.

2005, war Esther als Gasttänzerin am Ballett Frankfurt und 2006 für die damals frisch gegründete TheForsytheCompany, wo sie 2006 als volles Mitglied arbeitete. Esther tanzte bei TheForsytheCompany, tauchte in den kreativen Prozess mit William Forsythe ein, tourte und performte Forsythes Stücke „Yes We Can’t“, „I Don’t believe in Outer Space“, „Defenders“ und „The Returns“.

2012 wurde Esther Professorin für Tanz in Wien und unterrichtet derzeit an der Universität für Musik und Kunst, MUK. Außerdem ist sie Gastdozentin an der Rambert School und dem Ballet Preljocaj, leitete ein Researchprojekt bei ImPulsTanz, performte bei Ganymed 2015-17 am KHM Wien unter der Leitung von Jaqueline Kornmüller, arbeitet mit Scott DeLahunta für MotionBank Frankfurt, realisiert gemeinsam mit Christina Jauernik & Wolfgang Tschapeller INTRA SPACE und ist Tänzerin und Kollaborateurin von John Gerrard – die beiden letzteren Projekte laufen seit 2014 bis zum heutigen Tag. Esther ist im Sommer 2018 bei Alex Gottfarbs „Negotiations“ zu sehen.

GOOD TO KNOW

© Karolina Miernik

Fesche Goodies der letzten Festival-Ausgaben ab jetzt HIER

Dancer: Helmut Fixl © Johanna Figl

Sneak previews auf unsere aktuellen Performances, oder sweet Memories vergangener Workshops und Festival-Events sehen Sie hier. MORE

© ImPulsTanz

Alles über unsere vorangegangenen Festivals finden Sie HIER

© ImPulsTanz - All rights reserved
Date: 21.08.2019, 16:16 | Link: https://www.impulstanz.com/archive/artistbios/id1376/