You are using an unsupported browser, so some features may not work. Please upgrade to a modern browser
Ihr Webbrowser ist veraltet und wird leider nicht in vollem Umfang unterstützt.

ARCHIVE

SEARCH TERM
CATEGORYS
YEAR
 
 

WORKSHOPS 2019

Helmut Vogt
© Helmut Vogt

Germaine Acogny

Germaine Acogny Technique


Germaine Acogny's teaching is based on her specific technique of Modern African Dance, a synthesis of Traditional Dances from West Africa (Sahel and forest area) and Contemporary Western Dances. This technique is absolutely comparable to Western techniques such as Graham’s or Limon’s. It is related to the idea that African Dances are a continuous dialogue with the Cosmos.


She works a lot with improvisation techniques. She trains the African dancers to make them discover their own way, transforming their traditional dances into contemporary expressions and forms.


In connivance with the percussionist drummers, she offers to share her universe of "body in joy" through her technique based on sensitive virtuosi. Focussing on the spine movement she considers as the snake of life or the tree of life, she works on: contractions, undulations, tremulations or vibrations.


Most of her movements are inspired by nature – plants or animals, but also by elements of daily life in Africa. They are precise and clearly defined and deeply related to breathing. The movements of Acogny’s technique are named from symbolic natural images such as: fromager tree, water lily, deer. Breathing and deep-rooting are also very important parts of the exercises. These exercises help to liberate the body, to feel it differently, to be deep-rooted on the ground and feel verticality better. The movements also contribute to enriching the dancer’s physical vocabulary.


Germaines Acogny’s classes are divided into 3 parts:



  • Warming up in a circle and/or using the entire space (45 minutes)

  • Approach to the different movements of her technique (30 minutes), in standing position, on the floor

  • Putting the different movements into a combination, into dance (1 hour).


To the world of western dance, she suggests to open up to African dance, to its wealth, power and telluric strength as a new source of inspiration.


Musical accompaniment

The dancer is not supposed to count; s/he is supposed to listen to the musician to feel the rhythm and anticipate the blockings and calls. The musician is more than an accompanying figure; helps to "open up the ear" of the dancer, inspire his/her unusual movement quality and thus contribute in developing the corporal language.


When the students have interiorised the technique and the movements, Germaine Acogny guides them through improvisations in which they use elements they learned during the class to combine them with their own dances and dance tradition. Germaine Acogny's technique helps the dancer see his/her own corporal language from a different angle, analyse it and use it in a new creative way. Her work is strongly related to Africa but at the same time opens up to the universal.



ArtistBio: Germaine Acogny
Workshopoverview 2019
Intensive2: 27. Jul + 28. Jul 2019

GOOD TO KNOW

final workshop showing 2019 © yako.one

Gallery

Sneak previews of our current performances, or sweet memories of our workshops and past festival events can be watched HERE.

© Maja Preckel

Shop

Fashionable goodies of the last festivals are available HERE

© Karolin Miernik

Archive

Everything about our previous festivals you find HERE

© ImPulsTanz - All rights reserved
Date: 29.02.2020, 07:15 | Link: https://www.impulstanz.com/en/archive/2019/workshops/id4011/

You are using an unsupported browser, so some features may not work. Please upgrade to a modern browser
Ihr Webbrowser ist veraltet und wird leider nicht in vollem Umfang unterstützt.

ARCHIV

SUCHBEGRIFF
KATEGORIEN
JAHR
 
 

WORKSHOPS 2019

Helmut Vogt
© Helmut Vogt

Germaine Acogny

Germaine Acogny Technique


Germaine Acognys Unterricht hat seine Wurzeln in ihrer spezifischen Technik von modernem afrikanischen Tanz – eine Mischung aus traditionellen westafrikanischen Tänzen (Sahel und Waldgegend) und westlichen Formen des zeitgenössischen Tanzes. Diese Technik ist vergleichbar mit westlichen Techniken wie Graham oder Limon. Sie ist verwurzelt in der Idee, dass afrikanische Tänze in einem kontinuierlichem Dialog mit dem Kosmos stehen.


Germaine arbeitet viel mit Improvisationstechniken und trainiert afrikanische Tänzer_innen auf eine Art und Weise, die sie ermutigt, ihren eigenen Weg zu finden, indem sie ihre traditionellen Tänze in zeitgenössische Ausdrucksformen gießen.

In Übereinstimmung mit Trommler_innen und Schlagzeuger_innen lädt sie in ihr Universum des „Body in Joy“ durch ihre Technik mit sensibler Virtuosität ein. Sie konzentriert sich auf Wirbelbewegungen, da sie die Wirbelsäule als Schlange oder Baum des Lebens betrachtet, und arbeitet somit auch viel mit „contractions“ (Kontraktionen), wellenförmigen Bewegungen, Zittern oder Vibrationen.


Viele ihrer Bewegungen sind von der Natur inspiriert, seien es Pflanzen oder Tiere oder aber auch Elemente des alltäglichen Lebens in Afrika. Sie sind präzise und klar definiert und zutiefst verbunden mit dem Aten. Die Bewegungen in Acognys Technik sind benannt nach symbolischen Naturbildern wie dem Fromager-Baum, der Wasserlilie, oder Rehen. Das Atmen und das tief Verwurzelt-Sein sind auch wichtige Bestandteile der Übungen, welche die Befreiung des Körpers, das Anders-Fühlen, das im Boden Verwurzelt-Sein und das vertikal Sich-Besser-Fühlen ermöglichen. Die Bewegungen sind auch dazu gedacht, das Tanzvokabular von Tänzer_innen zu verbessern.


Germaine Acognys Kurse bestehen aus drei Teilen:

- im Kreis oder im ganzen Raum aufwärmen (45 Minuten)

- im Stehen oder am Boden die verschiedenen Bewegungen der Technik kennenlernen (30 Minuten)

- die verschiedenen Bewegungen in Kombination ins Tanzen einfließen lassen (1 Stunde)


Sie fordert die Welt des westlichen Tanzes dazu auf, afrikanischen Tanz aufzunehmen und seine Fülle, Kraft und seine tellurische Stärke als neue Inspirationsquelle zu sehen.


Musikalische Begleitung

Tänzer_innen sollen möglichst wenig den Takt zählen, sie sollen viel eher den Musiker_innen zuhören, um den Rhythmus zu spüren und Stopps und Rufe zu erwarten. Musiker_innen sind mehr als nur begleitende Figuren; sie helfen uns „unsere Ohren zu öffnen“, unerwartete Bewegungsqualitäten zu inspirieren und somit zur Entwicklung der körperlichen Sprache beizutragen.


Sobald Teilnehmer_innen die Technik und Bewegungen aufgenommen haben, beginnt Germaine Acogny mit Improvisationen, in denen die erlernten Elemente mit eigenen Tänzen und Tanztraditionen verbunden werden können. Germaine Acognys Technik hilft den Tänzer_innen, die eigene Körpersprache aus verschiedenen Blickwinkeln zu sehen, zu analysieren und auf kreative Weisen zu verwenden. Ihre Arbeit hat einen starken Afrikabezug, öffnet sich aber zugleich auch dem ganzen Universum.



ArtistBio: Germaine Acogny
Workshopübersicht 2019
Intensive2: 27. Jul + 28. Jul 2019

GOOD TO KNOW

© Karolina Miernik

Fesche Goodies der letzten Festival-Ausgaben ab jetzt HIER

© ImPulsTanz

Alles über unsere vorangegangenen Festivals finden Sie HIER

Dancer: Helmut Fixl © Johanna Figl

Sneak previews auf unsere aktuellen Performances, oder sweet Memories vergangener Workshops und Festival-Events sehen Sie hier. MORE

© ImPulsTanz - All rights reserved
Date: 19.09.2019, 17:34 | Link: https://www.impulstanz.com/archive/2019/workshops/id4011/