You are using an unsupported browser, so some features may not work. Please upgrade to a modern browser
Ihr Webbrowser ist veraltet und wird leider nicht in vollem Umfang unterstützt.




Dieter Hartwig
© Dieter Hartwig

Jeremy Wade

The body as a non-natural interface

In order to address the complexity of being and having a body in advanced capitalism we need a generative and fictive metaphor because so many of the forces that dominate and shape our bodies pretend to be natural when they are not. Within these power relations lets work with the body as a non-natural interface; a site of transparency and hyper-relationality. In positing the body as a non-natural interface, we could begin to not only critically deconstruct and fuck with hegemonic notions of the body, but also to explore the aesthetic, social and political possibilities of resistance that emerge when we reconcile with its constructed-ness.

We will begin by taking a brief inventory of contemporary "human" techniques, including but not limited to somatic practices, psychology and psychiatry. Let’s quickly get acquainted with some "techniques of the self" that too often function as authoritative systems, machinating the body with naturalising narratives of subjectivity enhancement, re-inscribing sameness, productivity, and alignment with normativity, however seemingly well intentioned. What does this paradoxical dance look like?

Feeling coded, conditioned and trained? Tired of endlessly polishing your subjectivity as the new commodity? No worries, the combination of feminism, science fiction and world making can help. Our next step will be to build a body on new terms, our terms, as a diagnostic, creative and open framework to process the incomprehensible present. We will get crafty and create maps on the floor of the forces that machinate and influence our bodies eventually using that as a meta score to work with. We can invent impossible therapies to better become what we have become. "It gets better!?!?" We can create scores to perform ourselves, future folk dances that temporally dispossess ourselves from our selves. We can employ fiction’s capacities to tell the truth with lies – thus allowing us to warp time, scale and perspective until we arrive at strange new vantage points. This workshop is a generative experiment, allowing us to renegotiate the natural, authentic and normative body through the filter of queer, feminist, post humanist and disability scholarship. Side effects may include: sensitising, scanning, tuning, visualising, re-mapping, scoring, improvising, and exploring the potential of our non-natural bodies as hyper relational interfaces dancing and making things happen without constraints of the "real".

ArtistBio: Jeremy Wade
Workshopoverview 2017


danceWEB Brunch 2015 © Karolina Miernik

Skip through our festival impressions as of 2005 HERE

© ImPulsTanz

Everything about our previous festivals you find HERE

REBECCA PATEK "ineter(a)nal f/ear" © MARIA BARANOVA

Subscribe for flowery or informative ImPulsTanz mail HERE

© Karolina Miernik

Fashionable goodies of the last festivals are available HERE

© ImPulsTanz - All rights reserved
Date: 24.03.2018, 18:22 | Link:
© ImPulsTanz - Vienna International Dance Festival

You are using an unsupported browser, so some features may not work. Please upgrade to a modern browser
Ihr Webbrowser ist veraltet und wird leider nicht in vollem Umfang unterstützt.

ARCHIV

SUCHBEGRIFF
KATEGORIEN
JAHR
 
 

WORKSHOPS 2017

Dieter Hartwig
© Dieter Hartwig

Jeremy Wade

The body as a non-natural interface


Um die Komplexität des Seins zu bewältigen und einen Körper im fortgeschrittenen Kapitalismus zu haben, brauchen wir eine generative und fiktive Metapher, weil so viele der Kräfte, die unseren Körper dominieren und formen, vorgeben, dass sie natürlich sind, wenn sie es eigentlich nicht sind. Innerhalb dieser Machtverhältnisse können wir mit dem Körper als nicht-natürliche Schnittstelle arbeiten: ein Ort der Transparenz und Hyper-Relationalität. Durch die Postulierung des Körpers als nicht-natürliche Schnittstelle könnten wir anfangen, nicht nur kritisch zu dekonstruieren und mit hegemonialen Vorstellungen vom Körper zu experimentieren, sondern auch die ästhetischen, sozialen und politischen Widerstandsmöglichkeiten zu erforschen, die entstehen, wenn wir der Konstruiertheit nachgeben.


Wir beginnen mit einer kurzen Inventur der zeitgenössischen „menschlichen“ Techniken, einschließlich, aber nicht beschränkt auf somatische Praktiken, Psychologie und Psychiatrie. Machen wir uns schnell mit einigen „Techniken des Selbst“ vertraut, die zu oft als überlegene Systeme fungieren und den Körper mit naturalisierenden Erzählungen der Subjektivitätssteigerung bezirzen, eine Wieder-Einschreibung von Gleichheit, Produktivität und Ausrichtung auf die Normativität versprechen, aber scheinbar gut gemeint sind. Wie sieht dieser paradoxe Tanz aus?


Fühlst du dich codiert, konditioniert und geschult? Bist du es leid, unaufhörlich deine Subjektivität als neues Gut aufzupolieren? Keine Sorge, die Kombination von Feminismus, Science Fiction und Welterschaffung kann helfen. Unser nächster Schritt wird es sein, den Körper mit neuen Bedingungen, unseren Bedingungen, und als diagnostisches, kreatives und offenes Gefüge zu formen, um die unverständliche Gegenwart zu begreifen. Wir machen uns schlau und schmieden Pläne auf dem Boden der Kräfte, die unseren Körper maschinieren und beeinflussen und nützen es als Meta-Plattform für unsere Arbeit. Wir können unmögliche Therapien erfinden, um noch besser im Werden zu werden. „Wird es besser?!?!“. Wir bauen Scores um uns selbst zu performen, machen Zukunfts-Volkstänze, die uns temporär von uns selbst befreien. Wir können die Fähigkeiten von Fiktion nützen, um die Wahrheit zu erlügen – dies ermöglicht es uns Zeit, Dimension und Perspektiven zu verdrehen bis wir zu seltsamen neuen Blickwinkeln geraten. Dieser Workshop ist ein generatives Experiment, das es uns erlaubt, den natürlichen, authentischen und normativen Körper durch die Linse des queeren, feministischen, post-humanistischen und einem Behinderungsstipendiums zu sehen. Kann zu folgenden Nebenwirkungen führen: Sensibilisierung, Abtastung, Verfeinerung, Visualisierung, Neu-Definierung, Strukturierung, Verbesserung und Erkundung des potentiellen nicht-natürlichen Körpers, als hochgradig relationale Schnittstellen, die Dinge ertanzen und erschaffen können, ohne das „Reale“ einzuschränken.



ArtistBio: Jeremy Wade
Workshopübersicht 2017

GOOD TO KNOW

© Maja Preckel

Shop

Fesche Goodies der letzten Festival-Ausgaben ab jetzt HIER

final workshop showing 2019 © yako.one

Galerie

Sneak previews auf unsere aktuellen Performances, oder sweet Memories vergangener Workshops und Festival-Events sehen Sie HIER.

© Karolin Miernik

Archiv

Alles über unsere vorangegangenen Festivals finden Sie HIER

© ImPulsTanz - All rights reserved
Date: 29.03.2020, 11:19 | Link: https://www.impulstanz.com/archive/2017/workshops/id3501/
NEWSLETTER ABONNIERENPROGRAMM BESTELLEN
© ImPulsTanz - Vienna International Dance Festival