You are using an unsupported browser, so some features may not work. Please upgrade to a modern browser
Ihr Webbrowser ist veraltet und wird leider nicht in vollem Umfang unterstützt.

ARCHIVE

SEARCH TERM
YEAR
CATEGORYS
 
 

WORKSHOPS 2014

Georg Oberweger
© Georg Oberweger

Saju Hari

When the Body Becomes the Eye


Saju Hari's contemporary dance style is a very enjoyable and energetic one, which he teaches with beautiful music. The concept 'body becomes the eye' has derived from the Keralan Martial Art form 'Kalaripayattu' which is his main training. It is referring to speed and sensitivity, treating the whole body as one singular energy - a Body-Mind-Unity.


Through his first teaching experiences, while working with the Akram Khan Dance Company, he found a way to incorporate this Martial Arts technique and other influences from other South Asian dance forms like Kathak, Bharatanatyam etc., and merged it into this exciting contemporary style. It combines the subtle fluidity, and articulation of the extremities (as in the South Asian dance forms) with the attack and the use of focus like in a martial art.


Saju's teaching philosophy focuses on teaching rather from a performer's perspective and is engaging in questions such as: what are you thinking while you are on stage? what does your eyes do during a performance? It is about the breathing in general and economising the energy through a massively tiring sequence, reflecting on the individual performing experience and stories.



ArtistBio: Saju Hari
Workshopoverview 2014
Week2: 28. Jul - 01. Aug 2014
Intensive2: 02. Aug + 03. Aug 2014

GOOD TO KNOW

© ImPulsTanz

Join our club for numerous benefits. HERE

© Maximilian Pramatarov

Fashionable goodies of the last festivals are available again HERE

danceWEB Brunch 2015 © Karolina Miernik

Skip through our festival impressions as of 2005 HERE

© ImPulsTanz

Everything about our previous festivals you find HERE

© ImPulsTanz - All rights reserved
Date: 24.04.2017, 05:34 | Link: http://www.impulstanz.com/en/archive/2014/workshops/id2542/
NEWSLETTER SUBSCRIPTION
© ImPulsTanz - Vienna International Dance Festival

ARCHIV

SUCHBEGRIFF
KATEGORIEN
JAHR
 
 

WORKSHOPS 2014

Georg Oberweger
© Georg Oberweger

Saju Hari

When the Body Becomes the Eye


Saju Haris zeitgenössischer Tanzstil ist hinreißend und energiegeladen und wird mit schöner Musik unterrichtet. Das Konzept für diesen Workshop stammt aus der Kampfskunstform Kalaripayattu, die Saju in Kerala (Indien) praktiziert hat. Es geht um Schnelligkeit und Sensibilität zugleich, wobei der Körper als einzige Energiequelle, als Einheit von Körper und Geist, betrachtet wird.


In seinen ersten Unterrichtserfahrungen, in der Zeit, als Tänzer bei der Akram Khan Company, fand er heraus, wie er diese Kampfkunsttechnik mit anderen südasiatischen Tanzformen wie Kathak, Bharatanatyam etc. verbinden könnte. So entstand dieser aufregende zeitgenössische Tanzstil. Subtile Fluidität und die Artikulation der Extremitäten (wie es in südasiatischen Tanzformen üblich ist) werden mit Angriffselementen und dem Einsatz des Blickes aus der Kampfkunst, kombiniert.


Saju unterrichtet aus der Perspektive eines Performers heraus und beschäftigt sich mit Fragen wie: woran denkt man während man auf der Bühne steht? Wohin sind die Augen gerichtet? Es geht um die Atmung im Allgemeinen und darum, vor allem bei stark ermüdenden Passagen, mit der Energie hauszuhalten. Zudem liegen Saju die individuelle Performance-Erfahrung und die Geschichten der einzelnen Teilnehmer_innen sehr am Herzen.



ArtistBio: Saju Hari
Workshopübersicht 2014
Week2: 28. Jul - 01. Aug 2014
Intensive2: 02. Aug + 03. Aug 2014

GOOD TO KNOW

final workshop showing 2019 © yako.one

Galerie

Sneak Previews auf unsere aktuellen Performances oder sweet Memories vergangener Workshops und Festival-Events findest du HIER.

© Karolin Miernik

Archiv

Alles über unsere vorangegangenen Festivals findest du HIER

© Maja Preckel

Shop

Fesche Goodies der letzten Festival-Ausgaben ab jetzt HIER

© ImPulsTanz - All rights reserved
Date: 11.08.2020, 05:55 | Link: https://www.impulstanz.com/archive/2014/workshops/id2542/
NEWSLETTER ABONNIERENPROGRAMM BESTELLEN
© ImPulsTanz - Vienna International Dance Festival