You are using an unsupported browser, so some features may not work. Please upgrade to a modern browser
Ihr Webbrowser ist veraltet und wird leider nicht in vollem Umfang unterstützt.

ARCHIVE

SEARCH TERM
CATEGORYS
YEAR
 
 

RESEARCH 2014

Sacha Osaka
© Sacha Osaka
Field Projects: 2014

Karine LaBel & Angela Vadori

Vodou Goes East


Challenging European Contemporary Dance


The first association with the word Vodou is the doll with the pins, maybe blood and zombies. Few know it as a living system of embodied knowledge, a dance and belief system. The scope of this Field Project is to understand in which ways Haitian Vodou Dance (mis)translates into the context of European contemporary dance / performances, in which ways it challenges its (unreflected) assumptions and how it can change the understanding of the body as a site of knowledge and as a means of resistance.


Haitian Vodou Dance is strongly interlinked with the African Holocaust during which millions of Africans died or were enslaved and eradicated from their continent. The aesthetic system of Vodou Dance, as connective tissue of African-Haitian culture, cross-cuts through the belief system, the economic system, the political system and the social system. It cannot be simply understood as a performance or system of representation. Through its role in the preservation of knowledge and cultural identity, the body became a site of resistance for the African Diaspora people.


Delving into what may seem to the average European as an "exotic" aesthetic system, opens a space for a critical engagement with oneself's situatedness. Not only does non-European art barely have a place in socially/politically engaged European contemporary performance, it is sometimes even discriminated in the countries of origin as a "lowly practice".


So what position could it possibly have in a contemporary art practice? The mediation between operating in a field where Vodou Dance is not culturally embedded and providing a place of reflection (rather than only teaching pre-fixed codes) has led us to highlight certain aspects of one cultural practice in relationship with another. It is a mediation that must necessarily result in mis-translations, mis-placements and mis-understandings, if only due to the uprooting of a dance form that forms part of a larger system. But exactly these failures open the way to a creative engagement, to new meanings and to critical reflection. How can we deal with these mis-placements in the practice and how does that affect the practice?  We question how a living practice may become, condense, create meaning, when the given cultural/religious structure is not given? How can it thus affect the dancing body as a social and political field?



ArtistBio: Karine LaBel
ArtistBio: Angela Vadori

GOOD TO KNOW

© Karolin Miernik

Archive

Everything about our previous festivals you find HERE

© Maja Preckel

Shop

Fashionable goodies of the last festivals are available HERE

final workshop showing 2019 © yako.one

Gallery

Sneak previews of our current performances, or sweet memories of our workshops and past festival events can be watched HERE.

© ImPulsTanz - All rights reserved
Date: 06.12.2019, 22:05 | Link: https://www.impulstanz.com/en/archive/2014/research/id2584/

You are using an unsupported browser, so some features may not work. Please upgrade to a modern browser
Ihr Webbrowser ist veraltet und wird leider nicht in vollem Umfang unterstützt.

ARCHIV

SUCHBEGRIFF
KATEGORIEN
JAHR
 
 

RESEARCH 2014

Sacha Osaka
© Sacha Osaka
Field Projects: 2014

Karine LaBel & Angela Vadori

Vodou Goes East


Eine Aufforderung an den Europäischen Zeitgenössischen Tanz


Die erste Assoziation mit dem Wort Vodou ist meist die Puppe mit den Nadeln, vielleicht Blut und Zombies. Nur wenige kennen ihn als ein lebendiges System von verkörpertem Wissen, ein Tanz- und Glaubenssystem. In diesem Field Project wird erforscht, warum haitiansicher Vodou Tanz im Kontext von europäischem, zeitgenössischen Tanz & Performance missinterpretiert wird, inwiefern die (unreflektierten) Anschauungen herausgefordert werden können und wie aus dem Verständnis des Körpers ein Ort des Wissens und des Widerstands gemacht werden kann.


Haitianischer Vodou Tanz ist stark mit dem afrikanischen Holocaust verknüpft, bei dem Millionen von Menschen starben, versklavt oder aus ihrem Kontinent vertrieben wurden. Das ästhetische System des Vodou Tanzes als Bindegewebe der afrikanisch-haitianischen Kultur, zieht sich durch das Glaubenssystem, das Wirtschaftssystem, das politische System und das Sozialsystem. Es kann nicht einfach als eine Performance oder als Repräsentationssystem verstanden werden. In seiner Rolle als Bewahrer des Wissens und der kulturellen Identität, wurde der Körper während der afrikanischen Diaspora zu einem Ort des Widerstands.


Indem wir in das eintauchen, was dem europäischen Durchschnitt als „exotisches“ ästhetisches System erscheint, öffnet sich ein Raum für eine kritische Auseinandersetzung mit der eigenen Zugehörigkeit. Außereuropäische Kunst findet nicht nur kaum einen Platz in der sozial-/politisch-engagierten europäischen zeitgenössischen Performance, sie wird manchmal auch in den Herkunftsländern als „geringfügige Praxis“ diskriminiert.


Welche Stellung also könnte Vodou Tanz in der zeitgenössischen Kunstpraxis möglicherweise einnehmen? Die Vermittlung zwischen der Arbeit in einem Bereich, in dem Vodou Tanz nicht kulturell eingebettet ist und der Bereitstellung eines Ortes für die Reflexion (im Gegensatz zu einem Frontalunterricht von vorgefertigten Codes), hat uns dazu veranlasst, bestimmte Aspekte einer kulturellen Praxis in Beziehung zu einer anderen, hervorzuheben. Es ist eine Vermittlung, die notwendigerweise zu fälschlichen Übersetzungen, Missdeutungen und Missverständnissen führen muss, wenn auch nur aufgrund der Entwurzelung einer Tanzform, die Teil eines größeren Systems ist. Aber genau dieses Scheitern öffnet den Weg zu einer kreativen Auseinandersetzung, neuen Bedeutungen und kritischer Reflexion. Wie können wir mit diesen Missdeutungen in der Praxis aufräumen und wie wirkt sich das wiederum auf die Praxis aus? Wir fragen uns, wie eine lebendige Praxis entstehen, sich verdichten und Sinn stiften kann, wenn die gegebene kulturelle/religiöse Struktur nicht gegeben ist. Wie kann diese Praxis den tanzenden Körper als sozialen und politischen Ort beeinflussen?



ArtistBio: Karine LaBel
ArtistBio: Angela Vadori

GOOD TO KNOW

© Maja Preckel

Shop

Fesche Goodies der letzten Festival-Ausgaben ab jetzt HIER

final workshop showing 2019 © yako.one

Galerie

Sneak previews auf unsere aktuellen Performances, oder sweet Memories vergangener Workshops und Festival-Events sehen Sie HIER.

© Karolin Miernik

Archiv

Alles über unsere vorangegangenen Festivals finden Sie HIER

© ImPulsTanz - All rights reserved
Date: 06.12.2019, 21:05 | Link: https://www.impulstanz.com/archive/2014/research/id2584/