You are using an unsupported browser, so some features may not work. Please upgrade to a modern browser
Ihr Webbrowser ist veraltet und wird leider nicht in vollem Umfang unterstützt.

ARCHIVE

SEARCH TERM
CATEGORYS
YEAR
 
 

PERFORMANCES 2012

© Wonge Bergmann
© Wonge Bergmann

Troubleyn / Jan Fabre (BE)

"This is theatre like it was to be expected and foreseen"


The title’s tautological structure (it is as it was) is essentially a double negation. This production is not theatre, and certainly not as was foreseen. What could have been expected was fiction, a group of actors playing a role, who borrowed their lines from someone else, and who pretend to think of these lines on the spot.
Theatre as a lie, as a farce. Fabre’s production is at odds with the normal genre divisions.

With the highly affirmative title, This is Theatre, Fabre succeeds in creating a universe that shakes theatre to its core, and which manages to skilfully and definitively tear down any potential definitions that might have still been standing, much like an earthquake. This is Theatre presents itself as an eight-hour work day, in which a set of characters repeat a number of actions and thus work up a sweat until they are exhausted and leave the shop floor once again:

they empty bags of sands, they lick yoghurt from the floor, they try to see who could dress or undress the fastest, cover themselves in shaving foam and wash it off again, etc.
Eighteen actions, which make up a Fabre theatre work day.

"This is Theatre" is a self-fulfilling prophecy. It has its own preconceived grammar. Aesthetically, it ties in with assembly and installation. There are references to historically important visual artists, but, above all, several references to Jan Fabre’s own universe, with his use of shaving foam, candles on swinging chairs, and budgerigars, ingredients which Fabre uses in his performance art and visual work.

"This is Theatre" offers an introduction to what fascinates this author-director: his way of dealing with discipline, with the power of repetition and the repetition of power, with the asphyxiation and the revival of the individual, with the party of death amidst burgeoning life.

Duration: approx. 480 min. (It is possible to walk in and out during the performance. The bar is open during the entire performance.)

July 21, 2012 | 21:00 - 05:00am
July 22, 2012 | 19:00 - 03:00am

Special tip:
On July 21 and 22, with your ticket for "This is theatre like it was to be expected and foreseen", you are invited to a free tour through the Kunsthalle exbhition "Cut-ups, Cut-ins, Cut-outs – Die Kunst des William S. Burroughs", guided by curator Synne Genzmer. The tour starts one hour prior to the Troubleyn/ Jan Fabre performances at MQ Halle G.


*Please notice: This performance is not suitable for children (younger than approx. 14 years).

venue:
MuseumsQuartier Halle G
dates:
Jul 21, 2012, 21:00
Jul 22, 2012, 19:00

GOOD TO KNOW

final workshop showing 2019 © yako.one

Gallery

Sneak previews of our current performances, or sweet memories of our workshops and past festival events can be watched HERE.

© Maja Preckel

Shop

Fashionable goodies of the last festivals are available HERE

© Karolin Miernik

Archive

Everything about our previous festivals you find HERE

© ImPulsTanz - All rights reserved
Date: 11.12.2019, 07:47 | Link: https://www.impulstanz.com/en/archive/2012/performances/id502/

ARCHIV

SUCHBEGRIFF
KATEGORIEN
JAHR
 
 

PERFORMANCES 2012

© Wonge Bergmann
© Wonge Bergmann

Troubleyn / Jan Fabre (BE)

"This is theatre like it was to be expected and foreseen"


This is theatre like it was to be expected and foreseen: dieser Titel ist Programm. Er bestätigt ein Genre („Theater“) mit seiner ganzen Tradition („wie es zu erwarten war“). Gegenwart und Zukunft verbinden sich hier in einem Vergleich („wie“), der nur dazu dient, Zustimmung zu organisieren. Dieser Titel ähnelt einer Tautologie: hiermit bestätigen wir, dass es Theater ist, also ist es Theater!

Seine tautologische Struktur („es ist wie es war“) beinhaltet im Kern eine doppelte Negation: Diese Produktion ist nicht Theater, und ganz bestimmt nicht, wie es vorhergesehen war. Was hätte erwartet werden können, war eine Fiktion, eine Gruppe von Schauspielern, die eine Rolle spielen und ihren Text von jemand anderem geborgt haben, und die vorgeben, dass der Text im Augenblick des Sprechens entsteht. Theater als Lüge, als Farce. Als zwei Stunden fiktionaler Unterbrechung inmitten des Strudels, der das Leben ist. Fabres Produktion steht im Widerspruch mit der traditionellen Teilung der Sparten.

Durch den zustimmenden Titel, This is Theatre ... , gelingt es Fabre ein Universum zu erschaffen, welches das Theater bis ins Mark erschüttert, und das jene sich bis dahin gehaltenen Definitionen auf kluge und endgültige Weise niederreißt. This is Theatre ... präsentiert sich selbst als achtstündiger Arbeitstag, während dessen eine Gruppe von Figuren eine Reihe von Aktionen wiederholt, die sie ins Schwitzen bringt, bis sie wieder erschöpft die Fertigungshalle verlässt.

Sie entleeren Säcke voll Sand, sie lecken Joghurt vom Boden, sie schauen, wer sich am schnellsten an- oder ausziehen kann, sie bedecken sich mit Rasierschaum und waschen ihn wieder ab, etc.: achtzehn Aktionen, die einen Theaterarbeitstag à la Fabre ausmachen.

This is theatre ... ist eine sich selbst erfüllende Prophezeiung. Es besitzt eine ihm eigene vorgefasste Grammatik. Ästhetisch verknüpft es Montage mit Installation. Es gibt Verweise auf historisch bedeutende bildende Künstler wie Iannis Kounellis und Schnabel, aber vor allem vielfältige Referenzen auf Fabres eigenes Universum mit seinem Gebrauch von Rasierschaum, Kerzen auf Schaukeln und Wellensittichen; Zutaten, die Fabre bislang in seiner bildenden Kunst eingesetzt hatte.

This is theatre ... ist eine Einführung in all das, was den Autor/Regisseur fasziniert: seine Art, mit Disziplin umzugehen wie mit der Macht der Wiederholung und der Wiederholung der Macht; mit dem Ersticken und Wiederbeleben des Individuums; mit der Rolle des Todes inmitten aufkeimenden Lebens.

Stückdauer: ca. 480 min. (Bei diesem Stück besteht während der Vorstellung die Möglichkeit, den Saal zu verlassen und später wieder zurückzukehren. Die Bar hat während der gesamten Performance geöffnet.)

21. Juli 2012 | 21.00 Uhr bis 05.00 Uhr
22. Juli 2012 | 19.00 Uhr bis 03.00 Uhr

Extra Tipp:
Mit Ihrem Ticket für "This is theatre like it was to be expected and foreseen" können Sie am 21. und 22. Juli kostenfrei eine Führung der Kuratorin Synne Genzmer durch die Ausstellung „Cut-ups, Cut-ins, Cut-outs – Die Kunst des William S. Burroughs“ in der Kunsthalle besuchen, Die Führung beginnt jeweils eine Stunde vor Aufführungsbeginn.


*Hinweis: Diese Performance ist nicht für Kinder (bis ca. 14 Jahre) geeignet.

Spielort:
MuseumsQuartier Halle G
Termine:
21.07.2012, 21:00
22.07.2012, 19:00

GOOD TO KNOW

© Karolin Miernik

Archiv

Alles über unsere vorangegangenen Festivals findest du HIER

© Maja Preckel

Shop

Fesche Goodies der letzten Festival-Ausgaben ab jetzt HIER

final workshop showing 2019 © yako.one

Galerie

Sneak Previews auf unsere aktuellen Performances oder sweet Memories vergangener Workshops und Festival-Events findest du HIER.

© ImPulsTanz - All rights reserved
Date: 08.08.2020, 23:12 | Link: https://www.impulstanz.com/archive/2012/performances/id502/
NEWSLETTER ABONNIERENPROGRAMM BESTELLEN
© ImPulsTanz - Vienna International Dance Festival