You are using an unsupported browser, so some features may not work. Please upgrade to a modern browser
Ihr Webbrowser ist veraltet und wird leider nicht in vollem Umfang unterstützt.

ARCHIVE

SEARCH TERM
CATEGORYS
YEAR
 
 

RESEARCH 2011

Marlene Millar
© Marlene Millar
CoachingProject: August 1-5 2011

Charmaine LeBlanc & Marlene Millar

Mediating Intimacy

What is it that makes us stop in our steps to look and see something or hear something that really moves us? We live in a world that is unbelievably complex and all of our senses are challenged. As artists we have a unique platform wherein we can explore all of these many faceted layers; with all that we have technologically at arm’s length. What is it we want to say? How do we want to convey our intentions? What images would best influence our objectives, what sounds and words and movements…

Mediating intimacy is a Coaching Project centred on finding new points of departure for developing movement. Its areas of research include creating a vocal language for each performer as well as exploring spatial disposition and its emotional impact through the use of video en direct. Video and voice are two strong forms to work with when creating a movement piece and both can serve to focus on and highlight intimate details that one is looking to convey.

Charmaine and Marlene will discuss their approach and process though the different stages of their collaborative work as seen in "Quarantaine 4 x 4"- from idea, development in studio, production, editing, and integration into live performance. Excerpts from their work will be viewed and discussed as well.

Working from an exploratory foundation grounded in experimental and documentary methods, participants will work in small teams using basic tools - small video cameras, microphones, and simple lighting and editing to explore multiple ways of integrating voice, video and performance. Exercises and work in progress created throughout the workshop will be presented for discussion amongst the participants throughout the week. A final project will be presented on the last day. Voice will be taught throughout the process and participants will be asked to use voice as a narrative, live or recorded for their sound base.
We look forward to this meeting;
Charmaine and Marlene.

Charmaine LeBlanc
Charmaine is a vocalist/ composer/ percussionist who has had the opportunity of crossing over into several artistic fields. She has written scores and performed for dance, theatre, film and television. Charmaine has had the privilege of working alongside some of the worlds most renowned voice teachers and has worked with some of the most internationally acclaimed directors and choreographerssuch as: Margie Gillis, Gerald Casel, Risa Steinberg, Angélique Willkie, Luc Tremblay und Les Gens d’R. Also she is accompyning for many institutions and teachers a.o. at LADMMI Montréal, José Limón Institute, Concorde University, New School for the Arts Amsterdam. She has started her own company The Red Rabbit Project. Charmaine continues to coach at the Cirque du Soleil and Franco Dragone’s company in Las Vegas.

Marlene Millar
With a background in contemporary dance and design, Montreal filmmaker Marlene Millar created her first award winning dance film "The Woman and the Sink" in 1989. Marlene received her BFA in Film Production from Concordia University, Montreal, studied at the School of the Art Institute of Chicago, and in 1999 she received a Pew Dance-Media Fellowship at UCLA. Marlene also has an established career as a documentary film editor. In 2001 Marlene and Philip Szporer co-founded the arts film production company Mouvement Perpétuel. Recepients of numerous nominations and awards, their films have been featured on television, in festivals and at world events such as the 2010 Cultural Olympics, the World Exhibition in Shanghai, a UNESCO tour of Latin America and recently in retrospective at the Festival Quartiers Danses in Montreal. Ongoing projects include "Moments in Motion 2", a multi-platform documentary series and "Lost Action: Trace", a stereoscopic (3D) live action/animated film with co-director and choreographer Crystal Pite, animator Theodore Ushev and produced by the National Film Board of Canada.
Marlene also creates integrated film installations for performance, including "Quarantaine 4x4" and an upcoming new work with Charmaine LeBlanc for a 360 immersive dome. She has directed videos for dancer Louise Lecavalier, choreographer Lynda Gaudreau, spoken-word artist Ian Ferrier, and visual artist Sui Yee Wong among others. Millar has been mentoring emerging filmmakers since 1994 and has taught filmmaking workshops across Canada and the U.S., at the Centre Imagine in Burkino Faso, at ImpulzTanz in Vienna, recently in Nunavut and Helsinki, Finland.

ArtistBio: Charmaine LeBlanc
ArtistBio: Marlene Millar

GOOD TO KNOW

final workshop showing 2019 © yako.one

Gallery

Sneak previews of our current performances, or sweet memories of our workshops and past festival events can be watched HERE.

© Maja Preckel

Shop

Fashionable goodies of the last festivals are available HERE

© Karolin Miernik

Archive

Everything about our previous festivals you find HERE

© ImPulsTanz - All rights reserved
Date: 26.01.2020, 01:26 | Link: https://www.impulstanz.com/en/archive/2011/research/id1754/

You are using an unsupported browser, so some features may not work. Please upgrade to a modern browser
Ihr Webbrowser ist veraltet und wird leider nicht in vollem Umfang unterstützt.

ARCHIV

SUCHBEGRIFF
KATEGORIEN
JAHR
 
 

RESEARCH 2011

Marlene Millar
© Marlene Millar
CoachingProject: 1.-5. August 2011

Charmaine LeBlanc & Marlene Millar

Mediating Intimacy

Was ist es was uns innehalten lässt, um etwas zu betrachten, zu sehen und zu hören das uns bewegt? Wir leben in einer Welt, die unglaublich komplex ist und all unsere Sinne erfordert. Als KünstlerInnen haben wir eine einzigartige Plattform, in der wir all diese Facetten ausloten können; mit all den technischen Möglichkeiten, die uns zu Verfügung stehen. Was ist es was wir sagen wollen? Wie wollen wir unsere Absichten übermitteln? Welche Bilder, welche Sounds und Worte wirken sich am stärksten auf unsere Vorstellungen aus?

Mediating intimacy ist ein Coaching Project, das nach neuen Ansätzen und zündenden Ideen für die Suche nach Bewegungsvokabular forscht. Der Researchbereich erstreckt sich vom Schaffen einer eigenen Ausdruckssprache für jede/n einzelne/n PerformerIn über die Untersuchung der räumlichen Disposition, wie auch die damit verbundene emotionale Reaktion bei der Arbeit mit Live-Video. Video und Stimme sind zwei starke Ausdrucksformen bei der Kreation von Bewegungsmaterial. Beide fördern die Konzentration auf die intimen Details bei der beabsichtigten Performance.

Marlene und Charmaine werden ihre Zusammenarbeit, ihre Ansätze und ihre Arbeitsweise, in Ahnlehnung an ihr Stück „Quarantaine 4 x 4“präsentieren, beginnend von der Idee, über die Entwicklung im Studio, zu Produktion und Schnitt, und schließlich zur vollständigen Live-Performance. Auszüge aus ihren Arbeiten werden gezeigt und durchbesprochen.

Basierend auf Dokumentation und Experimenten werden die TeilnehmerInnen in kleinen Teams mit einfachen Mitteln wie Handkameras, Mikrophonen und simplem Lichtdesign arbeiten und die unterschiedlichen Wege der Arbeit mit der Stimme, Video und Performance untersuchen. Übungen und Arbeiten, die während dem Coaching entstehen, werden zur Diskussion stehen. Ein abschließendes Projekt wird am letzten Tag der Woche gezeigt. Arbeit mit der Stimme wird im Laufe des Arbeitsprozesses unterrichtet und die TeilnehmerInnen sind dazu eingeladen, die Stimme, sowohl live als auch aufgenommen, als Basis ihres Soundtracks zu verwenden.
Wir freuen uns auf euch,
Charmaine und Marlene

Charmaine Le Blanc ist Komponistin, Vokalistin und Percussionistin. Sie komponierte in den letzten zehn Jahren über dreißig Soundtracks für namhafte Theater- und Tanzkompanien im nordamerikanischen Raum. Charmaine arbeitete mit zahlreichen ChoreografInnen, u.a. Margie Gillis, Gerald Casel, Risa Steinberg, Angélique Willkie, Luc Tremblay und Les Gens d’R. Als vielseitige Begleitmusikerin wird sie von Tanzinstitutionen überall auf der Welt geschätzt, so etwa von LADMMI Montréal, José Limón Institute, Concorde University, New School for the Arts Amsterdam, uvm. Sie hat ihre eigene Compagnie The Red Rabbit Project und arbeitet als Coach für den Cirque du Soleil und die Compagnie Franco Dragone in Las Vegas.

Die Filmemacherin Marlene Millar hat einen Tanz- und Designhintergrund und kreierte 1989 ihren ersten, preisgekrönten Film „The Woman and the Sink“. Marlene erhielt ihren Bachelorabschluss in Filmproduktion an der Concordia University in Montreal, studierte an der School of the Art Institute in Chicago und erhielt das Pew Dance-Media Förderungsstipendium an der University of California. Marlene ist auch als Dokumentarfilmcutterin tätig. 2001 gründete sie zusammen mit Philip Szporer die Kunstfilmproduktionscompagnie Mouvement Perpétuel. Ihre Filme erhielten zahlreiche Preise und Ehrungen, wurden im Fernsehen, bei Festivals und internationalen Events gezeigt, wie bei den 2010 Cultural Olympics, EXPO 2010 in Shanghai, bei einer UNESCO Tour in Lateinamerika, und kürzlich beim Quartiers Danses Festival in Montreal. Laufende Projekte sind: „Moments in Motion 2“, ein Serie von Multiplattform Dokumentarionen und „Lost Action: Trace“, eine stereoskopische (3D) Liveaktion/animierter Film mit der Choreografin/Regisseurin Crystal Pite und dem Trickzeichner Theodore Ushev, produziert vom Nationalen Filmgremium in Kanada.
Marlene kreiert Installationen für Performance, wie z.B. für „Quarantaine 4x4“, eine Arbeit Charmaine LeBlanc. Sie hat Videos für die Tänzerin Louise Lecavalier, die Choreografin Lynda Gaudreau, den Stimmkünstler Ian Ferrier, die bildende Künstlerin Sui Yee Wong, u.a. gemacht. Seit 1994 betreut sie angehende Filmmacher und unterrichtete bisher Workshops für Film in Kanada und den USA, am Centre Imagine in Burkino Faso, bei ImPulzTanz in Wien, und kürzlich in Nunavut und Helsinki, Finnland.
ArtistBio: Charmaine LeBlanc
ArtistBio: Marlene Millar

GOOD TO KNOW

© Maja Preckel

Shop

Fesche Goodies der letzten Festival-Ausgaben ab jetzt HIER

© Karolin Miernik

Archiv

Alles über unsere vorangegangenen Festivals finden Sie HIER

final workshop showing 2019 © yako.one

Galerie

Sneak previews auf unsere aktuellen Performances, oder sweet Memories vergangener Workshops und Festival-Events sehen Sie HIER.

© ImPulsTanz - All rights reserved
Date: 26.01.2020, 01:23 | Link: https://www.impulstanz.com/archive/2011/research/id1754/