You are using an unsupported browser, so some features may not work. Please upgrade to a modern browser
Ihr Webbrowser ist veraltet und wird leider nicht in vollem Umfang unterstützt.

ARCHIVE

SEARCH TERM
CATEGORYS
YEAR
 
 

RESEARCH 2008

Koen Broos Eastman
© Koen Broos Eastman
CoachingProject: 14.7.-18.7. 2008

Guy Cools & Lin Snelling

Repeating Distance

Montreal-based choreographer Lin Snelling and Belgian dance dramaturge Guy Cools met when Lin participated in the improvisation project "Blind" by Flemish choreographer Alexander Baervoets which was produced and presented for the even Vooruit Danse en Avant, curated byGuy Cools.
Out of fascination for each other’s city - Antwerpen and Montréal - they went into the studio in both cities to find a meeting ground between movement and text; between body and external eye.
Repeating Distance, the improvised dialogue which resulted from this, was developed and presented during residencies in Arts Centre Monty in Antwerpen, the Fondation Jean-Pierre Perrault and Studio 303 in Montreal. In May 2005 it was presented 15 times in only 3 days to a large audience, as part of the project Body Walks in Brugges. During workshops given in Toronto and Montréal, the educational potential of the project, for both choreographers and performers, was researched.

As an artistic project Repeating Distance investigates:
- new ways to edit language and movement;
- the translation process between the presence and fluidity of the articulated and highly trained body of the performer and the verbally articulated consciousness and
physical economy of the dramaturge;
- how to use a local, urban landscape and an actual performance space as a source
for a non-linear form of contemporary story-telling;
- how to develop a collective repertoire and memory of movements, images, stories to be used within an improvised performance form;
- performance time and space as a balance between the deep structure of the rehearsal practice and the surface structure of the actual performance.

We are paying attention to how the body moves and writes. It is a slow process that involves the experience of “going for a walk” and then “remembering the walk.” What are we choosing to remember? And why? And how does this recall become present in real time? As we walk and remember we discover the most overwhelming activity... that of slowing down and opening up.

We are writing the body and moving the word.
In our work as dance artists, the body is the word. Each one at its most essential is poetic by nature, full of paradox, mystery and practicalities; a kind of intelligence that poetry captures and movement evokes. This intelligence demands an articulate way of repeating movement so as to refine and edit... a method involving subtraction... so the words and the movements become charged with energy and can carry the memory of the viewer back into a sentient dialogue with place.

We are repeating distance so that the imagination of all watching can emerge. We become guides into the myriad fluid connections held and carried inside the body, inside the spirit, and inside the soul of a city as it transforms itself endlessly under the influence of the time of day, season, and age. The timing of a city is the chance crossing of millions of lives... all weaving into the amazing texture of a day. The threads are so fine and so dependent on routine, necessity, livelihood, occasion and accident. Just like the human body; also a miracle of timing and accident; a fluid reality with a beating heart; something we take for granted and marvel at; a conscious and unconscious paradox.

As an educational process, Repeating Distance can teach:
performers,
- to integrate voice and movement;
- to improvise with language and movement in non-linear, narrative ways;
- the develop a higher awareness of performance time and space;
- to use their own daily reality as a source to create material;
choreographers,
- to use improvisation both as a tool to create choreographic material and a way to keep their performances alive and present;
- to work with both trained and non-trained bodies and performers;
- to include the act of ‘watching’ as a meaningful theatrical device;
non-professional dancers,
- to discover their body and memory as creative sources for both physical
and verbal expression.

Guy Cools
Trained as a dramaturge for the theatre, Guy Cools became involved at an early
age with the new developments in dance in Flanders since the 1980’s. First as a dance critic and from 1990 onwards, as the theatre and dance director of Arts Centre Vooruit in Gent, Belgium. There he has co-produced and collaborated with choreographers such as Alain Platel & Sidi Larbi Cherkaoui (Les Ballets C de la B), Michèle Anne De Mey, Karin Ponties, Cesc Gelabert, Angels Margarit, Marie Chouinard, Lynda Gaudreau, Jonathan Burrows, Akram Khan, Iztok Kovac, Caterina Sagna, and many others. As vice-president of the Dance Council he was involved in designing the cultural policy towards dance of the Flemish Community. He also curated dance events in Frankfurt, Düsseldorf, Venice and Montréal. Recently he returned to his old passion of teaching and writing, giving workshops and lectures and publishing in Belgium, Canada, Great Britain, Germany and Greece.
Since September 2005 he lives in Montréal where he focuses mainly on his work as a dance dramaturge with artists such as Koen Augustijnen and Sidi Larbi Cherkaoui (Les Ballets C de la B), Danièle Desnoyers, Akram Khan, Sara Wookey, amongst others. Repeating Distance is his dance début.

Lin Snelling
Lin Snelling continues to investigate, perform and teach improvisation which has cultivated an exploration into body work in relation to dance and the spoken and written word. Lin has performed with Carbone 14 (1989-2001) touring extensively, both nationally and internationally. An interest in multidisciplinary art and re-invention fuels her nearly two dozen choreographies; such as Woman as Landscape (1999) and Circle (2002) with collaborators Michael Reinhart and Josée Gagnon, Words Will Be Spoken/Echo with Hetty King (2000) and IAMMYOWNRAIN (2001) with Chantal Lamirande. In addition, she has worked with several other choreographers and directors in Toronto, Montréal, Vancouver and Europe.
In the spring of 2003 she shared the stage at l’Agora de la Danse with Andrew Harwood and Alexander Baervoets, in Blind, a Baervoets creation and part of the event Vooruit Danse en Avant. Her two most recent creations, Limbes/Limbo a collaboration with Nathalie Claude and Momentum, and extinction, a collaboration with Michael Reinhart, were performed in 2004 at Usine C.
Her most recent collaboration with Guy Cools, called ‘repeating distance’, involves walking, talking and the architecture of cities... as models of vulnerability and hope.
ArtistBio: Guy Cools
ArtistBio: Lin Snelling

GOOD TO KNOW

© ImPulsTanz

Everything about our previous festivals you find HERE

© Karolina Miernik

Fashionable goodies of the last festivals are available HERE

Dancer: Helmut Fixl © Johanna Figl

Sneak previews of our current performances, or sweet memories of our workshops and past festival events can be watched here. MORE

© ImPulsTanz - All rights reserved
Date: 19.08.2019, 13:05 | Link: https://www.impulstanz.com/en/archive/2008/research/id1197/

You are using an unsupported browser, so some features may not work. Please upgrade to a modern browser
Ihr Webbrowser ist veraltet und wird leider nicht in vollem Umfang unterstützt.

ARCHIV

SUCHBEGRIFF
KATEGORIEN
JAHR
 
 

RESEARCH 2008

Koen Broos Eastman
© Koen Broos Eastman
CoachingProject: 14.7.-18.7. 2008

Guy Cools & Lin Snelling

Repeating Distance

Die in Montréal ansässige Choreografin Lin Snelling und der belgische Tanzdramaturg Guy Cools lernten einander bei dem Improvisationsprojekt „Blind“ des flämischen Choreografen Alexander Baervoets kennen, an dem Lin teilnahm und das bei Vooruit Danse en Avant zur Aufführung kam und von Guy Cools kuratiert wurde.
Aufgrund gegenseitiger Faszination für die beiden Heimatstädte - Antwerpen und Montreal - trafen sie sich in Studios beider Städte, um einen Nährboden für die Verschmelzung von Bewegung und Text, dem Körper und dem Auge von Außen, zu finden.
Repeating Distance, ein improvisierter Dialog, ist Resultat aus Residencies im Arts Centre Monty in Antewerpen und Fondation Jean-Pierre Perrault and Studio 303. Im Mai 2005 wurde es 15 Mal in nur 3 Tagen einem großen Publikum als Teil des Body Walks-Projektes in Brugges präsentiert.
In Workshops in Toronto und Montréal wurde am Unterrichtspotential für Performer und Choreografen weitergearbeitet. Als künstlerisches Projekt erforscht Repeating Distance:
- neue Wege, Sprache und Bewegung zu bearbeiten;
- den Umwandlungsprozess von Präsenz und Fluidität des beweglichen und hoch trainierten Körpers des Tänzers und des verbal ausgeprägten Bewusstseins und der körperlichen Ökonomie des Dramatugen;
- wie man örtliche, urbane Gegebenheiten und den eigentlichen Performanceraum als Quelle für eine nichtlineare Form des zeitgenössischen Erzählens nutzt;
- wie man ein kollektives Repertoire entwickelt und Bewegung, Bilder, Geschichten speichert, um sie dann in der improvisierten Performancesituation anwendet;
- Zeit und Raum, in dem die genau strukturierte Probensituation mit der tatsächlichen grobstrukturierten Performancesituation ausgewogen wird.

Wir beobachten genauestens, wie sich der Körper bewegt und studieren seine Schreibweise. Dies ist ein langsamer Prozess, der die Erfahrungen aus „Spaziergängen“ und in weiterer Folge aus der Erinnerung daran verknüpft. Woran wollen wir uns erinnern? Und weshalb? Und wie vor allem äußert sich diese Erinnerung in der aktuellen Situation? Während wir spazieren gehen und uns erinnern entdecken wir die überwältigendste Erfahrung: die Verlangsamung und die Offenbarung.

Wir lassen den Körper schreiben und bewegen das Wort.
In unserer Arbeit als Tänzer ist der Körper das Wort. Jedes einzelne ist in seiner Essenz ist schon von Natur aus poetisch, sehr paradox, mysteriös und anwendbar; eine Art Intelligenz, die von Poesie erfasst und von Bewegung hervorgerufen wird. Diese Intelligenz erfordert eine ausgeklügelte Art und Weise der Bewegungswiederholung, um diese zu verfeinern und zu edieren… eine Methode, die Reduktion beinhaltet… auf dass Worte und Bewegungen mit Energie geladen werden und dem Zuschauer die Möglichkeit gegeben wird sich zu erinnern und in einen empfindsamen Dialog mit dem Ort zu treten.

Wir wiederholen Distanz, so dass jeder Zuschauer seine eigene Vorstellungskraft entwickeln kann. Wir lenken dier unzähligen fließenden Verbindungen, die in unserem Körper, in unserem Geist und in der Seele einer Stadt bestehen, die unter ständigem Einfluss von Tages- und Jahreszeit wie auch den Jahren steht. Das Timing einer Stadt ist das zufällige Aufeinandertreffen von Leben… jedes einzelne schlängelt sich durch das Gewebe eines Tages. Die Fäden sind sehr fein und abhängig von Routine, Bedürfnissen, Existenz, Gelegenheiten und Zufällen. Genauso wie der menschliche Körper; ebenso ein Wunder an gutem Timing und Zufall; eine flüssige Wirklichkeit mit Herzschlag; etwas Selbstverständliches und ebenso ein Wunder; ein bewusstes und unbewusstes Paradoxon.

Repeating Distance als Unterricht lehrt:
für Performer:
- Stimme und Bewegung zu verflechten
- Improvisation von Sprache und Bewegung auf nichtlinearer, erzählerischer Ebene
- ein geschärftes Bewusstsein von Zeit und Raum in einer Performance zu entwickeln
- das eigene tägliche Dasein als Kreationsquelle zu nützen

für Choreogafen:
- Improvisation als Mittel um choreografisches Material zu entwickeln und um damit die Möglichkeit, ihr Stück lebendig und präsent zu halten
- mit ausgebildeten und nicht ausgebildeten Körpern und Performern zu arbeiten
- Zuschauen als bedeutendes theatralisches Mittel zu integrieren

für nicht professionelle Tänzer:
- ihren Körper und sein Erinnerungsvermögen als Kreationsquelle für körperlichen als auch verbalen Ausdruck zu entdecken

Guy Cools
Ausgebildeter Theaterdramaturg, der sich schon in den 1980er Jahren, in sehr jungem Alter mit neuen Entwicklungen im Tanz in Flandern beschäftigte. Vorerst Tanzkritiker und seit 1990 Theater- und Tanzdirektor am Arts Centre Vooruit in Gent (Belgien). Dort arbeitete er unter anderem mit Choreografen wie Alain Platel und Sidi Larbi Cherdaoui (Les Ballets C de la B), Michèle Anne De Mey, Karin Ponties, Cesc Gelabert, Angels Margarit, Marie Chouinard, Lynda Gaudreau, Jonathan Burrows, Akram Khan, Iztok Kovac, Caterina Sagna uvm zusammen. Als Vice-Präsident des Tanzkollegiums beeinflusste er die flämische Tanzgemeinschaft auf kulturpolitischer Ebene mitbeeinflusst. Er war Kurator bei Tanzevents in Frankfurt, Düsseldorf, Venedig and Montréal. Kürzlich widmete er sich wieder seiner alten Leidenschaft, dem Unterrichten und Schreiben, dem Leiten von Workshops und Lehrveranstaltungen und dem Veröffentlichen in Belgien, Kanada, Großbritanien, Deutschland und Griechenland. Seit September 2005 lebt er in Montréal, wo er hauptsächlich als Tanzdramaturg mit Künstlern wie Koen Augustijnen und Sidi Larbi Cherkaoui (Les Ballets C de la B), Danièle Desnoyers, Akram Khan und Sara Wookey, arbeitet.
Repeating Distance ist sein Debut als Tänzer.

Lin Snelling
Lin Snelling arbeitet ständig an der Weiterentwicklung ihrer Recherche über die Einbeziehung von Körperarbeit in Tanz ebenso wie das gesprochene und geschriebene Wort, sowie an Performances und Lehrtätigkeit für Improvisation. Lin war Performerin bei der Kompanie Carbone 14 (1989-2001), mit der sie sowohl international als auch national intensiv auf Tournee war. Ihr Interesse für multidisziplinäre Kunst und das Neu-Erfinden bereichern ihre zahlreichen Choreografien; so wie zum Beispiel Woman as Landscape (1999) und Circle (2002) in Zusammenarbeit mit Michael Reinhart und Josée Gagnon, Words Will Be Spoken/Echo mit Hetty King (2000) and IAMMYOWNRAIN (2001) mit Chantal Lamirande. Weiters arbeite sie mit einigen Choreografen und Regisseuren in Toronto, Montreal, Vancouver und in Europa. Im Frühling 2003 teilte sie die Bühne bei l’Agora de la Danse mit Andrew Harwood und
Alexander Baervoets, bei Blind geteilt, ein Stück von Baervoets und Teileines Events bei Vooruit Danse en Avant. Zwei ihrer neueren Werke sind: Limbes/Limbo mit Nathalie Claude und Momentum, and extinction, eine Zusammenarbeit mit Michael Reinhart, aufgeführt 2004 bei Usine C. Die zusammenarbeit mit Guy Cools Repeating Distance befasst sich mit dem Gehen, dem Sprechen und der Stadtarchitektur als Leitbild für Verwundbarkeit und Hoffnung.

ArtistBio: Guy Cools
ArtistBio: Lin Snelling

GOOD TO KNOW

© Karolin Miernik

Archiv

Alles über unsere vorangegangenen Festivals finden Sie HIER

© Maja Preckel

Shop

Fesche Goodies der letzten Festival-Ausgaben ab jetzt HIER

final workshop showing 2019 © yako.one

Galerie

Sneak previews auf unsere aktuellen Performances, oder sweet Memories vergangener Workshops und Festival-Events sehen Sie HIER.

© ImPulsTanz - All rights reserved
Date: 15.11.2019, 03:04 | Link: https://www.impulstanz.com/archive/2008/research/id1197/