You are using an unsupported browser, so some features may not work. Please upgrade to a modern browser
Ihr Webbrowser ist veraltet und wird leider nicht in vollem Umfang unterstützt.

ARCHIVE

SEARCH TERM
YEAR
CATEGORYS
 
 

ArtistArchive

Karolina Miernik
© Karolina Miernik

Philippe Riéra / SUPERAMAS (AT/FR)

SUPERAMAS
Philippe Riéra/Superamas is a founding member of the Superamas group.
Past collaborations of Philippe Riéra include working with visual artists such as Claude Wampler (US), Markus Schinwald (AT), Isaac Julien (UK).

For the last 15 or so years, they have been produced in many theatres and festivals in Europe and North America and have imposed their trilogy "Big 1st Episode - Artificial Intelligence / Reality Show", "Big 2nd Episode - Show / Business", "Big 3rd Episode - Happy / End". They then created "EMPIRE (Art & Politics)", "YOUDREAM" and "THEATRE". They also exhibit in Art Galleries, produce films and publish books. In the season 2010/11 Superamas published with "Les Presses du Réel" and Jeroen Peeters a book on the BIG series. Their work has been extensively shown and reviewed in Europe and North America. In 2014 "SuperamaX" was premiered and for 2016 a new big stage project with the working title "Vive l´armée francaise!" is planned. The members of Superamas also teach extensively within their different fields of expertise.

Since 2013 Superamas is artist in residence at the Maison de la Culture in Amiens and 2011-2014 at VOORUIT/Ghent, where for the first time the integral series of BIG (1-3) has been shown in 2008. Superamas is based in Austria, France and Belgium. Internationally Superamas was presented at renown festivals like Festival d`Avignon, ImPulsTanz Vienna, Tanz im August/Berlin, Mettre en Scene/Rennes and at many venues including HAU/Berlin, Tanzquartier Vienna, Vooruit/Ghent, Kampnagel/Hamburg, The Kitchen/NYC, Walker Art Centre/Minneapolis, MCA/Chicago, Maison de la Culture/Amiens and many more.

In astrophysics, the French word "superamas" designates a galactic super cluster in migration, the largest known structure in the universe; in Mexico, it is a supermarket chain; on the stage, it is a collective that says "us" to better assert its singularity. A Superamas show is therefore many people on the stage, incomparable energy, lightness and complexity mixed together, pleasure and seduction combined with a pitiless criticism of our media, social and political reality. As they say: An eminently political position is incumbent on artists today: to not leave the monopoly of amusement up to Walt Disney. In other words: “acting like a whore” can be an extremely subversive position. And Superamas’ shows really cause critical damage through the implosion of pleasure: they perfectly mime our spectacular shortcomings to better challenge our condition of spectator/actor in an over-mediatised, over-productive world whose obsession with power runs in fourth gear as well as in neutral. The European artists who make up Superamas, a migrant and international structure based in Austria, Belgium and France, play with all supports and all genres: theatre, dance, video, performance, installations, conversations, cocktail parties, the G8 or even schoolboy pranks between friends and a huge pharaonic spectacle. The company toys with the differences between art and kitsch, elite and popular culture, television and theatre. They use theatrical conventions to ask questions, without giving bite-size answers.

GOOD TO KNOW

© Maximilian Pramatarov

Fashionable goodies of the last festivals are available again HERE

danceWEB Brunch 2015 © Karolina Miernik

Skip through our festival impressions as of 2005 HERE

© ImPulsTanz

Everything about our previous festivals you find HERE

REBECCA PATEK "ineter(a)nal f/ear" © MARIA BARANOVA

Subscribe for flowery or informative ImPulsTanz mail HERE

© ImPulsTanz - All rights reserved
Date: 25.04.2017, 02:51 | Link: http://www.impulstanz.com/en/archive/artistbios/id244/
NEWSLETTER SUBSCRIPTION
© ImPulsTanz - Vienna International Dance Festival

You are using an unsupported browser, so some features may not work. Please upgrade to a modern browser
Ihr Webbrowser ist veraltet und wird leider nicht in vollem Umfang unterstützt.

ARCHIV

SUCHBEGRIFF
JAHR
KATEGORIEN
 
 

ArtistArchive

Karolina Miernik
© Karolina Miernik

Philippe Riéra / SUPERAMAS (AT/FR)

SUPERAMAS
Philippe Riéra/Superamas ist Gründungsmitglied der Superamas Gruppe. Er arbeitete in den letzten Jahren u.a. mit den bildenden Künstlern Claude Wampler (US), Markus Schinwald (AT), Isaac Julien (UK) zusammen.

In den letzten 15 Jahren produzierten Superamas ihre Stücke für viele Theater und Festivals in Europa und Nordamerika, welchen sie die Trilogie „Big 1st Episode - Artificial Intelligence / Reality Show“, „Big 2nd Episode - Show / Business“, „Big 3rd Episode - Happy / End“ aufdrängten. Danach kreierten sie „EMPIRE (Art & Politics)“, „YOUDREAM“ und „THEATRE“. Zudem werden sie in Galerien ausgestellt, produzieren Filme und veröffentlichen Bücher. In der Saison 2010/2011 veröffentlichten Superamas mit Jeroen Peeters „Les Presses du Réel“, ein Buch über die BIG-Serie. Ihre Arbeiten wurden zahlreich in Europa und Nordamerika präsentiert und beschrieben. 2014 kam „SuperamaX“ zur Premiere und für 2016 ist ein neues großes Bühnenprojekt unter dem Arbeitstitel „Vive l´armée francaise!“ geplant. Die Mitglieder von Superamas unterrichten in ihren verschiedenen Arbeitsbereichen.

Seit 2013 hat Superamas eine Residency bei Maison de la Culture in Amiens und 2011-2014 bei VOORUIT/Gent, wo die gesamte BIG-Serie (1-3) 2008 gezeigt wurde. Die Basis von Superamas ist in Österreich, Frankreich und Belgien. Superamas wurde international bei bekannten Festivals präsentiert wie Festival d`Avignon, ImPulsTanz, Tanz im August/Berlin, Mettre en Scene/Rennes sowie in vielen Veranstaltungshäusern wie HAU/Berlin, Tanzquartier Wien, Vooruit/Ghent, Kampnagel/Hamburg, The Kitchen/NYC, Walker Art Centre/Minneapolis, MCA/Chicago, Maison de la Culture/Amiens u.v.m.

In der Astrophysik steht das französische Wort „superamas“ für einen wandernden Supergalaxienhaufen, die größte bekannte Struktur im Universum; in Mexiko ist es eine Supermarkt-Kette; auf der Bühne ist es ein Kollektiv, das „wir“ sagt, um seine Einzigartigkeit zu behaupten. Eine Superamas Show ist daher: viele Leute auf der Bühne, unvergleichbare Energie, Leichtigkeit und Komplexität in einem, Genuss und Verführung kombiniert mit erbarmungsloser Kritik unserer Medien sowie der sozialen und politischen Realitäten. Oder wie man sagt: eine bedeutende politische Position ist heutzutage obligatorisch für eine/n Künstler_in, um Walt Disney ja nicht das Monopol des Entertainments zu überlassen. In anderen Worten „als Hure dazustehen“ kann sehr umstürzlerisch sein. Superamas Stücke können anhand der Implosion von Genuss kritische Schäden verursachen: sie mimen auf perfekte Weise unsere Mängel und fordern uns dadurch als Zuseher_in/Performer_in in einer über-medialisierten, über-produktiven Welt, deren Machverliebtheit sowohl im vierten Gang als auch im Leerlauf weiterläuft, heraus. Die europäischen Künstler_innen, aus denen Supermas besteht, spielen mit allen Mitteln und Genren: Theater, Tanz, Video, Performance, Installationen, Konversationen, Cocktail-Parties, den G8 und sogar Bubenstreichen zwischen Freunden und einem pharaonischen Spektakel. Die Compagnie spielt sich mit den Unterschieden zwischen Kunst und Kitsch, Elite und Popkultur, Fernsehen und Theater. Sie nützen Theaterkonventionen, um Fragen in den Raum zu stellen, ohne auch nur ein Häppchen Antworten zu bieten.

GOOD TO KNOW

REBECCA PATEK "ineter(a)nal f/ear" © MARIA BARANOVA

Anmeldungen für blumige oder informative ImPulsTanz-Post HIER

© ImPulsTanz

Alles über unsere vorangegangenen Festivals finden Sie HIER

© Maximilian Pramatarov

Fesche Goodies der letzten beiden Festivals ab jetzt wieder HIER

danceWEB Brunch 2015 © Karolina Miernik

Festivalimpressionen ab 2005 gibt es HIER

© ImPulsTanz - All rights reserved
Date: 25.04.2017, 02:48 | Link: http://www.impulstanz.com/archive/artistbios/id244/
NEWSLETTER ANMELDUNG
© ImPulsTanz - Vienna International Dance Festival